[ENG - ESP] 📵 I spent a day without internet and telephone

I spent a day without internet and telephone

Portada 1 dia sin internet.png


"Recognize your mistakes before others exaggerate them".

"Reconoce tus errores antes de que otros los exageren."

Andrew Mason - american businessman / empresario estadounidense



It was a different day. Profusely anomalous. After a very intimate conversation with my wife in the wee hours of the morning about some issues that were bothering me, I decide to unplug the network cable on my computer and hand her my phone to hide it from me.

Fue un día diferente. Profusamente anómalo. Luego de una muy íntima conversación con mi esposa ya entrada la madrugada, sobre algunos temas que me preocupaban, decido desconectar el cable de red en mi computadora y entregarle mi teléfono para que lo escondiera de mí.


I stayed up until four in the morning. No internet connection and without my phone. Alone in front of my computer. I reviewed some documents on it and I decided to put some order in my files: books, images, music, applications, videos and others were a bit scattered, misplaced from where, in my opinion, they should be. Just like my mind, which scatters with such ease that every time I become aware of it, I never cease to be surprised. And my phone contributes a lot to this. That's why I decided not to have it with me.

Quedé despierto hasta las cuatro de la madrugada. Sin conexión a internet y sin mi teléfono. Solo frente a mi computadora. Revisé algunos documentos en ella y me propuse poner un poco de orden en mis archivos: libros, imágenes, música, aplicaciones, videos y demás estaban un poco dispersos, desubicados de dónde, a mi parecer, debía estar. Así como mi mente, que se disemina con tal facilidad, que cada vez que me hago consciente de ello, no dejo de sorprenderme. Y mi teléfono colabora mucho a ello. Por eso decidí no tenerlo conmigo.


When I woke up that day the real test began, since the first thing I do when I wake up is to check my phone and see the time, check messaging apps, social networks and other things, either on my phone or on my PC. But that day I didn't have either of those two devices. The computer did, but no connection. I felt helpless. No doubt "habit is stronger than love". Ok, no. Habits become habits and when you break them, your daily routine is altered, the routine you keep every day. And you feel aimless, meaningless. That was the experience of the beginning of my day without a phone or internet connection.


Al despertar ese día empezó la verdadera prueba, ya que lo primero que hago al levantarme es ver el teléfono y visualizar la hora, revisar aplicaciones de mensajería, redes sociales y otras cosas, sea en el teléfono o en mi PC. Pero ese día no tenía ninguno de esos dos dispositivos. La computadora sí, pero sin conexión. Me sentía desamparado. No cabe duda que “la costumbre es más fuerte que el amor”. Ok, no. Que los hábitos se vuelven costumbres y que cuando los rompes, se altera tu cotidianidad, la rutina que mantienes cada día. Y te sientes sin rumbo, sin sentido. Así era la experiencia de mi comienzo del día sin teléfono ni conexión a internet.

Despite this difficult situation, since I was a child I have had a skill that has served me well throughout my life: I don't know how to be bored, that is, I always find something to do. And it didn't take me long to find a job, and it was related to what I had started that morning: sorting out some file folders on my computer. Of course, I also used some of that time to review or write posts. That "free time" was used to create.

Con todo y esta difícil situación, desde pequeño tengo una habilidad que me ha servido de mucho a lo largo de mi vida: no sé aburrirme, es decir, siempre encuentro algo que hacer. Y no tardé mucho en hallar un oficio, y se relacionaba a lo que había iniciado esa madrugada: ordenar algunas carpetas de archivos de mi computadora. Por supuesto, también usé parte de ese tiempo para repasar o escribir posts. Ese “tiempo libre” fue usado para crear.


20220827_130533.jpg
Mi PC sin Internet


And that's what I regret, you know, that my phone and my computer are preventing me from creating. Ironic, don't you think? I waste time on other networks consuming content that doesn't contribute much to me, reading, watching videos or on Twitter "promoting" my #Hive publications and those of other users. Is that bad? No, but when I don't exercise with control these activities end up affecting my productivity and help me to disperse and that dispersion is not good in me. I need to correct this problem, because for me it is. I absolutely need to focus and have enough willpower to achieve it.

Y es lo que lamento, ¿sabes? Que precisamente el teléfono y mi computadora me están impidiendo crear. Irónico ¿no crees? Pierdo tiempo en otra redes consumiendo contenido que no me aporta mucho, leyendo, viendo videos o en Twitter “promocionando” mis publicaciones de #Hive y las de otros usuarios. ¿Es malo eso? No, pero cuando no ejerzo con control estas actividades terminan afectando mi productividad y me ayudan a dispersarme y esa dispersión no es buena en mí. Necesito corregir este problema, porque para mí lo es. Requiero imperiosamente enfocarme y tener la suficiente fuerza de voluntad para lograrlo.


20220827_130620.jpg
Mi PC sin Internet


I was a different day. Profusely anomalous. I was without telephone, without internet. The good thing about it all is that at least I didn't have withdrawal symptoms, I discovered that it's not an addiction as such, but if I keep neglecting myself, it can become one. I must develop enough willpower and self-discipline to make proper use of my phone and computer. Of that I have no doubt.

Thanks to the community "Dayli Blog" and its administrator @lauramica for receiving my post. I finally make my debut here, it was a pending matter. ☺️ I wanted to share this story with you while venting, remembering and meditating on what happened. And I conclude that I need more days without phone or internet. It is good to purge myself from social networks from time to time and from time to time, stop connecting with others and start connecting more with myself.

So, tell me, have you ever had days without internet or phone? It doesn't matter if it was voluntary or forced. If you've gone on a technology diet, how did it go? How was your experience?

I'll read you in the comments.

Fui un día diferente. Profusamente anómalo. Estuve sin teléfono, ni internet. Lo bueno de todo es que al menos no presenté síndrome de abstinencia, descubrí que no es una adicción como tal, pero si sigo descuidándome, se puede convertir en una. Debo desarrollar la suficiente fuerza de voluntad y autodisciplina para darle un uso adecuado a mi teléfono y a mi computadora. De eso no tengo dudas.

Gracias a la comunidad "Dayli Blog"y a su administradora @lauramica por recibir mi post. Por fin me estreno aquí, era una materia pendiente. ☺️ Quise compartir esta historia con ustedes a la vez que desahogarme, recordar y meditar en lo que pasó. Y concluyo que necesito más días sin teléfono ni internet. Es bueno depurarme de redes sociales de vez en cuando y de cuando en vez, dejar de conectarme con otros y empezar a conectar más conmigo mismo.

A ver, cuéntame tú. ¿Has tenido días sin internet o sin teléfono? No importa si ha sido voluntario o forzoso. Si has hecho dieta tecnológica, ¿cómo te ha ido? ¿Cómo ha sido tu experiencia?

Te leo en los comentarios.


"Strength comes not from physical ability but from indomitable will."

"La fuerza no proviene de la capacidad física sino de la voluntad indomable".

Mahatma Gandhi - indian lawyer and politician / abogado y politico indio


Logo agosto 2022.png

@garybilbao


Fuente de imágenes. Los vectores usados en la foto de portada y en la segunda imagen. / The vectors used in the cover photo and in the second image. Vector 1 - Vector 2
Las demás de fotos son de mi propiedad. / The rest of the photos are my property.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency