This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Nostalgia at Jollibee, Bida ang Saya

Hello mga ka-Hive. How are you all doing? It is already September. Three months to go and we will celebrate Christmas then New Year. True enough, time flies so fast. Anyway, here is another story for you.

IMG_2661.jpeg

Sa Jollibee, Bida Ang Saya.🎶

I know you automatically and definitely sang their famous jingle.

Indeed, Jollibee is happiness for kids and kids at heart. Children’s faces would lit up every time they hear the word Jollibee. You could hear their giggles the moment they saw the statue standing outside the restaurant. Most of the time, Jollibee is used for bribing children and as a reward for doing good in school.

It has been a while since I last dined in at Jollibee. As far as I could remember, it was December of last year, when I and my colleague were looking for a dress to wear to our Christmas party and unanimously decided to have our lunch at Jollibee.

One day, this week, my cravings for jolly spaghetti was on its peak and it was constantly on my mind during work. I could not wait to end my shift just so I could devour it. After clocking out, my main itinerary before going home is Gaisano where the fast food is. I did some thrifting first for running clothes as it was still early for dinner.

When done, I immediately walked to the said fast food restaurant. The place was jammed packed which was very usual. I lined up to the counter to make an order. While waiting for my turn, my eyes scanned the menu and targeted its chicken nuggets which I longed to try. I have heard not so good feedback about it yet I want to try it for myself.

I then ordered a solo jolly spaghetti and a 6 pieces chicken nuggets with fries and iced tea. I took the thing that beeps when your order is ready then took a seat at a vacant table. While waiting, I was looking at the façade. Indeed, nothing is permanent except change.

I could still remember the previous interior of Jollibee. Their blue and circle chairs and greyish tables. It was simple. Now, it has adopted by modernity.

IMG_2658.jpeg

I could also still remember the very first time we ate at Jollibee when we transferred to Bogo City. I was grade 1 at that time and Jollibee had just opened its branch in town. It was the first fast food restaurant in the city. My late mother dressed me and my sister and went to Jollibee. She ordered us their jolly spaghetti, our all time favorite. I was fondly enjoying my spaghetti while mama was wiping the sauce all over my mouth. That’s how messy it was.

I could remember how I was used to be scared of ordering my meal alone since I don’t know how to do it.

And lastly, I could still remember my 17th birthday celebration at Jollibee with just my family. It was an intimate celebration but memorable.

IMG_2667.jpeg
My 17th birthday celebration.

My lips curled forming a smile remembering those memories. Those were just few of them.

Jollibee has been our go to place after mass since it was the only fast food restaurant at that time. It is where we usually spend our Sunday Family day. I could not contain my happiness and excitement every time we walk towards the restaurant from church. I was looking forward to take a bite of their hot, crispy and juicy chicken joy and their gravy coupled with their iced coca cola drink. Oh what a pure bliss. At that time, eating at Jollibee was already a flex for me.

IMG_2663.jpeg

IMG_2664.jpeg

IMG_2666.jpeg

IMG_2665.jpeg
Sunday Family Day 🥰

My mind brought me to the present when the thing (apologies, I don’t know what it is called) beeped signifying that my order was ready.

IMG_2656.jpeg

I hurriedly went to the claim area to take my food to my table. Innovation has definitely come a long way. Before, you will be given a number and just place it to your table visible to the crew. You will just have to wait for them to bring your food to your table.

IMG_2659.jpeg

I placed the tray on my table and excitingly swirled my fork in the spaghetti and brought it to my mouth and paired it with some fries. Cravings satisfied. And can’t wait to try their chicken nuggets.

Now here’s my review on it.

It was kind of bland and kind of dry, truth be told. It definitely needs a dip. For me, I chose barbeque dip over gravy since I like a little bit of sweetness. And for me, it was a good pair. Size wise per piece is big enough. Also, it is best eaten while it is hot.

IMG_2660.jpeg

I would rate it 6.5 over ten. I prefer the purefood chicken nuggets. It is jucier and tastier compared to Jollibee’s even without its sauce.

Now I know the feedbacks are true but nonetheless, I still finished the six pieces.

Moreover, the place was still filled with children. Hearing their cute screams for spaghetti and fries and their little laughs were the usual sounds but another sound was new to me, the beeping. I don’t know if I was kind of annoyed or a little amazed of it. I guess it was somewhere in between.

IMG_2657.jpeg

Furthermore, I never thought that dining at the fast food restaurant would made me go down the memory lane. The nostalgia hit me hard. It made me miss my late mother and those days were everything was simple and easy.

With the rising and innovation of some fast food restaurants, Jollibee will still always be the comfort food of the kiddos. And there is something in Jollibee that always keeps me coming back, with the new fast food restaurants emerging in the city.

True to its jingle, sa Jollibee, bida ang saya.

How about you? What’s your Jollibee memory?

And that is all for today. Thank you for reading and until the next one.

With so much love - XOXO,
Bev 😘