The Stupidity of Hivewatchers

The Stupidity of Hivewatchers

I agree with the mission of Hivewatchers

First of all, I'd like make it 100% clear, that I generally agree with motives of Hivewatchers. Meaning, that Spam, Plagiarism, Scams and Fraud should be flagged and punished, and should not be allowed to exist on the Hive platform. I very strongly discourage and punish these things in my city, and will flag them with my own Hive power if I become aware of them. I do not like these things, and will fight them powerfully whenever I can. So I share this sentiment with Hivewatchers, we have the same philosophy in this regard.

However, they are driving good people from Hive and making mistakes

Many that Hivewatchers goes after do deserve it, but not all. This isn't something I just decided yesterday, but my observations over years. They have punished and discouraged many good people. That kind of people we want to have in Hive. The ecosystem isn't that big, so losing even a few good people can be quite harmful.

The Case of Bee, or anikys3reasure

@anikys3reasure or Bee, as she is known in my discord, is a good person. She has shown her face and is very open, and there is nothing sneaky or scammy about her.

I can personally vouch for her good character. She loaned money from me, while she was in Ukraine, and yep, as you can guess, she had to flee Ukraine because, yea, there is a War there. Any normal person would have used this as an excuse not to pay off the loan, but nope, in spite of this terrible hardship, she still paid off her loan on time like a total Boss.

Bee is the sort of person we need in the Hive ecosystem

Hivewatchers maliciously attacked her

Bee works for the blockchain called Skale. You can find her picture here
https://skale.space/blog/meet-the-skale-protocol-ambassadors
Just look for anikys3reasure. Clearly she is part of the Skale organization.

Hivewatchers flagged and banned her for posting translations of Skale posts. Bee went through some lengths to prove her innocence and that she really is a part of Skale and as an ambassodor, clearly she would have permission to repost Skale posts and spread the good word. She even invited the Skale marketing manager into the Hivewatchers discord to speak in her behalf, but they would hear none of it.

She is still banned to this day (a year later). So Hivewatchers takes the position that a member of Skale cannot post translations of Skale posts on Hive. Insane.

Bee isn't the only one, I've seen Hivewatchers attack a number of good people, who perhaps made a small mistake, or in some cases none at all. I don't have time or energy to go over them all in this post.

Hivewatchers futile and mostly useless war against AI

And now Hivewatchers has to jump on band wagon and wield their barbaric monkey club at AI users. Look, I get it, in the surface, if you are emotional and not a very deep thinker, yes I agree that if I know that someone is using ChatGTP to write their posts for them, this is bad, and I would probably avoid upvoting this, possibly might flag it (or not).

It is a losing battle

I'm making the prediction right now. Fighting the use of AI is 100% going to be a losing battle. You will absolutely lose, 100%.

"Hey AI, please read my last 20 posts and replicate my writing style."
"Hey AI, please sprinkle the writing with a few human mistakes."

OOPS! Checkmate. What are you going to do? Fucking nothing, that's what. Ho ho ho! I am certain this sort of capability will be easily available inside of 5 years. (If it isn't already).

My opinion on it doesn't even matter. The sky is blue, whether I like it or not. The sky doesn't care about my feelings, and AI definitely won't care about Hivewatchers feelings.

So, Hivewatchers, enjoy your witch hunt few years until it's all over. All you will accomplish is temporarily scaring people away from a new technology, and looking like a stupid asshole. Congrats!

I've withdrawn all support for Hivewatchers.

I have unvoted the witnesses of @guiltyparties and @abit. Also unvoted their proposal @hivewatchers/the-hivewatchers-and-spaminator-operational-proposal-for-the-period-2022-2024

I don't have any solutions, but I know this dumbness isn't what we need in Hive.


(badly photoshopped image based on a picture by HalHefnerART on DeviantArt)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
304 Comments
Ecency