City of Neoxian migrating away from Discord

Hello my city people and Hive,

We've all seen the crazy events lately, the shocking (but not entirely unexpected) censorship being done by nearly all the Big Tech companies, like Twitter, Facebook, Google, just to name a few. Unfortunately, Discord also took part in this:

Discord bans Reddit-linked pro-Trump server tied to attack on the U.S. Capitol

https://mashable.com/article/discord-bans-thedonald-trump/

I guess I can understand why so many in the Hive space latched on to Discord. It's nice, easy, fun, shiny with lot's of bells and whistle. It's got cool emojies, etc, etc.

However, Discord is centralized, closed source, and run by a single company, and this is unacceptable to anyone that cares about the ideals of crypto.

There are two types of people in the crypto space

  • Group One: People here for the money. They want to flip coins. Crypto is hip and cool and shiny, oh! and the money
  • Group Two: This more rare category who actually give a shit about the ideals and principles that underpin the crypto currency movement. Ideas like Open Source, Decentralization, and coin economics that make sense, free speech. Coins that bring unique and useful new technologies to the table. Group 2 will invest in solid cryptos that adhere to these types of principles. And yes they like making money too, but that's not the main goal.

Sadly most people are in group One, but you can rest assured that I am solidly in group Two.

Thus, in light of recent events, I have decided to move my city from Discord (where it was born) to somewhere else. Currently I have choosen to move to Element, https://www.element.io/

Element is decentralized and open source, certainly it's not a crypto, but step in the right direction. I don't like Telegram or Signal because they require phone numbers. I'm certainly open to other ideas, if anyone has any.

I and my city won't move overnight. It will happen slowly over a period of time, but my end goal is to have myself and my city completely off of Discord, maybe in about 3 to 6 months.

Element information:

My id there is @neoxian:matrix.org
Neoxian city chat: #cityofneoxian:matrix.org

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency