Is SILENCE still golden in the world today?

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt -Abraham Lincoln

A lot of things have changed in the world today and you will agree with me that countless things are been done differently from the old ways. The effects of the changes are different and while some things changed in good ways, others turned out to be bad.

Human relationship with one another is something that has changed a lot, the world has become congested and difficult to live in. For the sake of survival, a lot of people do not care about how their actions have negatively affected their fellow humans.

There was a time when humans lived with less hate for one another because it would be a lie to say that the world was once a peaceful place. During the time of less hate, silence was golden. It was a time when people define silence as something unique, although it is still golden to some extent today but it is not what it use to be anymore.


photo-1527831200629-a0438d65142b.jpeg

Source

I have a little knowledge about the old days even though I didn't experience them and I learned that people who talk less were regarded as wise ones. It is very understandable to think of them that way because when you talk less, there are high chances of you speaking reasonable things. After all, being quiet gives you the chance to think properly before speaking. This is not the case for everyone, some people are quiet and still spit rubbish.

Silence is feared in those days because it is hard to know the mind of a silent person, so people thread with caution when dealing with a silent person but that's not the case anymore.

RNFetchBlobTmp_mnpx512bihspwz91ta47z9.jpg

Growing up, I was taught to be silent among elders. My mom has this way of silencing me with her eyes whenever elders are talking and I want to interfere. I got to understand that in the midst of those who know more than you do, it is best to be quiet and talk only when called up to do so.

She many times stopped me from trying to make people see things from my point of view. I learned that it is better to be quiet than to speak among people who wouldn't accept you whether you are right or wrong.

Silence is a virtue to her, I believe it was one of the lessons she learned when she was young as well but does the world still see silence as a virtue?


Today in the world, being silent can make people rub dirt on your face. This generation sees silence as a sign of weakness and other unbelievable things.

  • A lot of bully victims in the world are silent people in nature, they are people who choose not to talk or interfere with things that are of no importance to them.
    I was one of them, I was so quiet that I got the nickname, baby. I wasn't dumb but I speak less and listen more, that has always been my way of learning more but being quiet didn't pay off. I became some bully target and I had to become the talking type just to scare bullies off while in school.

  • Being silent means pride in the world today. I have heard this countless times and I wonder why people think quiet people are proud. It is not a must to talk always and when you don't, people think you are forming or trying to class yourself.

  • Being quiet today makes people leave you out of many things that might end up affecting us since we weren't put into consideration while they were making that decision. It is happening everywhere, at church, among friends, and even in the family. It gets to a stage when people start deciding on your behalf at their benefit.

RNFetchBlobTmp_mnpx512bihspwz91ta47z9.jpg

People no longer see silence as golden or a virtue anymore. Today everyone wants to be heard and people even go the extra mile to get their voice heard. For some it is important while some people just want to speak rubbish, people will go at crazy length just to get attention.

I still try to be as silent as possible but not in some situations. Speaking up to condemn things that are not meant to be doesn't make you a lousy person so speaking only when required is still a legacy for me. I have learned to be able to switch between being silent and talking depending on the environment I find myself.

Despite the side effects that come with being silent today, I still think it is golden to an extent, and not speaking up when or where necessary can be worse. Allowing yourself to be trampled on by others just because of your silent nature might not end well always.


I hope you enjoyed reading through it, feel free to share in the comment section if you think silence is still golden in the present day world.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency