MIA Diaries- The Pilot: SRC WEEK Float

There’s a very good chance you have absolutely no idea what my title is saying. If you stick to the end of this post, you’ll be briefed lol.

I’ve been MIA the past few week, mostly because of exam, but aside exam, a lot has been happening on campus whiles I’ve been away. It was SRC week celebration a week to exam. (SRC is short for Student Representative Council). This was like 2 (maybe 3)weeks ago. If you know anything about SRC week, you know that this means things were about to get lit. SRC week is a very busy week and full of activities. Like the name suggests, the celebrations cover an entire week, everyday with a different theme.

The first activity and theme was the FLOAT. I’m not sure whether float is just a Ghanaian thing or an African thing, but floats are basically a way to advertise a campaign or an event. That wasn’t English if you were wondering. I mean, the word is an English word, but it’s meaning is obtained from a non-English language. Floats around here, are events to advertise, market, or create awareness about something. You normally see floats a lot around here with politicians. It involves massive crowds in cars or motorcycles moving through town with banners or ads of whatever they’re creating awareness about on the cars on the T-shirts they’re wearing.

We wanted to get word out there that we’ll be celebrating our SRC week that week. Some of the activities of the SRC week are open to even outsiders who are not students, but at a fee. This is one way SRC generates revenue.

So we hit the street that day in our custom SRC WEEK white T-shirts to do God’s work lol. They were free T-shirts for the first 100 students that arrived, for all others, you had to buy the T-shirt if you wanted it. It was a really fun event if you ignore the miles of walking we had to do. But even the walking was fun.

It surprised people how much we walked when we finally arrived at the town square. There’s music and jama(that’s basically music for morale) the entire walk, so you kind of just get lost in all the music and fun that you don’t realize how much walking you’ve done. I’m telling you, it’s really fun doing floats. At least the ones I’ve been part of have been.

We were supposed to have convened on campus around 4, but I know my school and came around 5:30 instead. And surprise, the parade actually stuck to their time today and I didn’t meet the crow when I got there, they had started moving already and I had to catch them on the road along the way.

There’s a road passing right in front of my school that leads into Navrongo town and that was the road we took. I tell you, the road was ours that day!!!

We head out following the truck which had the speakers playing music. Most of the fun and action was among the crowd close behind the truck. The people that were in front of the truck couldn’t gear the music that much, and the same happened for people that were too far behind the truck. I climbed onto the truck at some point when I got tired to get better shots.

We got back around 7:20pm. Maybe that’ll give you a hint of how far the journey was. The walk into turn and back was a 2-hour thing. Unfortunately, it was as tiring as it was fun and you wouldn’t be able to tell until you woke up the following morning. And if you’re anything like me,- sang through out the float and wouldn’t shut up, you probably would sound like a baby the following day.


I’ll be making the remaining posts to cover the other themes of the series of the SRC week celebration posts (Mia Dairies)so stay tuned if you’d like to read about the other events. The others are a lot more interesting I promise.

All pictures watermarked are from my school’s SRC camera guy who has released pictures to us students to use freely. They’re too many pictures to post, but I hope you enjoyed these ones!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency