A New Thing to Try

I've not been as active on hive lately as I'd like to. I'm back in my old department at work where I'm afforded the luxury of time to write, and I've been frustrated with myself for not utilizing that time. After seeing a post from @jacobtothe this weekend, I decided to look around and see if there's more communities on here that can suit my fancy. After all, not everything I do or write about is super relevant to @naturalmedicine or #homesteading. And sometimes I just flat out lack the inspiration to write anything down at all.

Enter 500 Words A Day, a hive community encouraging folks to simply write five hundred words a day. There's a couple of others that I subbed, but their topics aren't relevant right now. My intent today is to simply write five hundred words. Like a writing exercise to get the juices flowing and get me back into writing simply for the sake of writing. If I get rambly, I'm sorry. There'll be interesting things in the future, I promise. While 500 is the minimum goal, I'll likely go over. I get wordy sometimes.

I'll be frank. Here lately, as much as I say I'm not stressed about it, I'm pretty peeved about the ATF. For those that don't know, the ATF is the regulatory bureau that's in charge of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives in the US, and that's responsible for burning families alive, shooting nursing mothers in the back, and supplying gangs and terrorists with weapons they won't allow average citizens to possess without vast degrees of extortion. Thank them for their service every night, they're making the world safe.

Law? Never heard of her.

Here lately, they're trying to make my friends and I (not to mention millions of folks I haven't met yet) into felons. Now, I'm not one to listen to laws or give them much credence, y'all know that. I agree more with the sentiment of Robert Heinlein:

I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do.

I find them a very very obnoxious bunch, but here lately the threat of an obnoxious collective of moody bastards burning my family alive somehow isn't sitting right with me. Not sure what it is, but that prospect kinda makes me mad here recently and more than a little bit bummed. I have to remind myself almost daily that we're ruled by people that are willing to do worse things to us than we are to them, until we're not. I guess it's just my own maifestation of the universal distillation of 2020. Trying times, and telling.

IMG_20201220_134030677_HDR.jpg

I know a lot of folks on hive aren't Americans, and maybe I seem like a whiney baby cause "dey wanna take mah gunz," or whatever, but I tell you what; there's certain things you don't do to a person, and if you wanted me to so much as take out the trash under threat of burning my family alive, by God, fuck around and find out.

And yes. That's as logical as I'm going to be about it because in my own heart and my own life I've thought it out and developed my own answers and that's what it distills down to. Quit talking and try to burn my family and me alive.

Love from Texas,

Nate 😉

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency