Cards From My Personal Collection: Jeff Bagwell 2004 Topps Hit Parade Baseball Card

What a SWEET card. Topps always does a good job. This graphic is simple, I love the blue. Also the reflective feature is still SUPER reflective. I had to stand out of the way because I could honestly see myself a little too well! After nineteen years it's still in great condition. 19 YEARS!! I'm getting old...

20230816_033619.jpg

20230816_033702.jpg

Jeff Bagwell had a really sensational playing career that lasted from 1991-2005. Growing up, I only got to watch Bagwell's career at the tail end of it. I thought he was good, but I remember always being intrigued when I heard people say maybe he's a Hall of Famer. I never understood that idea, I knew he had a lot of home runs and everything, but I wasn't aware of just how much he accomplished as a pro.

Bagwell was incredibly dominant throughout the 1990's earning a taste of many major awards in that decade.

Bagwell earned the following awards throughout his career:

  • Unanimously selected as 1994 NL MVP
  • 4x All-Star
  • 1x Gold Glove
  • 1991 Rookie Of The Year
  • 3x Silver Slugger

Bagwell was consistently healthy and consistently powerful throughout his career. Bagwell played in 162 games four times in his career playing in a total of 2,150 games. Besides his fifteenth injury plagued season, Bagwell averaged about 32 home runs a season.

Bagwell ended up playing his entire 15 year career in Houston. I love to see that loyalty. Here's Bagwell's impressive career totals:

  • 449 Home Runs
  • 2,314 Hits
  • 1,529 RBIs
  • .297 Batting Average
  • 202 Stolen Bases

Those power stats mixed with a great batting average is really impressive stuff. Bagwell became a Hall of Famer in 2017! His number five is retired in Houston and of course he's in their Hall of Fame.

I was for sure a fan of Bagwell and I know my brother liked him too. He had a cool looking batting stance where he sort of kept a very low, wide base. It was cool to watch.


Src


Src

4637c96ef2c5447383ed0e7be3a43cf9.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency