This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

I bought a couple fake Pokémon Boxes!

My girlfriend was looking for some souvenirs here as we're shortly leaving this country and I stumbled upon a few Pokémon Card Boxes. Naturally the thought that they were fake struck me instantly but after having watched so many youtubers and streamers open up boxes the past year or two during all the hype after Logan Paul opened his, I figured what the hell. So I went ahead and bought two just for the fun of opening them up, fully knowing they were fake, especially since I got them at a good price (about $15 for both boxes), naturally you'd never be able to find original ones for that price as they all get sold out instantly when they are released (even newer ones). The cost compared to original ones on Amazon would be around $6 for only one pack and these fake ones came with about 40 packs or something in a box.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.34 AM (1).jpeg

(censored the price tag as to not doxx my location :p , the store owner also opened them up on the side to pull a couple out to show me they hadn't been pre-opened and messed with as if that mattered with them being fake xD)

The boxes I got was Sword and Shield Battle Styles and Pokemon Sword and Shield Fusion Strike which surprisingly seemed a lot cheaper on amazon so maybe the box that got me interested in the first place due to Mew being on the Box is the one they scammed me even more on, but whatever it wasn't that much money.

I started out with opening Battle Styles and there were not that many rare cards in it, I was surprised by the quality to be honest and comparing it to real ones on the internet it wasn't that bad.

Before I started opening the other box I figured hey I should take pictures for a post so no pictures of the first box, sorry.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.34 AM.jpeg

The box and what the packs looked like below, I mean they did a good job with it not gonna lie. Almost makes me wonder how much it costs them to re-create these, considering I got it for about $7.50 for 36 or 40 packs I can't imagine they must've profited much.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.33 AM.jpeg

My first pack opened!

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.32 AM.jpeg

Surprised by a holographic V card which should be quite rare I started off this pack properly, two more non-holo V cards of the same Pokémon was a bit odd, though, the other odd thing was that the other 6 cards were all electric, no energy card nor a trainer card. Odd indeed, and something that naturally made my certainty of it being fake rise from 99.99% to 99.999%.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.31 AM.jpeg

This next pack was a little more legit looking I had to say, one holo V card, Suicune, one of my favorites from Gen 2, and then a few fire, normals, water and a couple different non-holo V cards. Had I opened this pack up first I may have been less certain of it's fakeness!

Honestly the V cards didn't look that bad, I decided to record the light and shine a bit and converted it into a gif for easier viewing here in the post. I mean if I had no idea that there are fakes around I sure would be fooled all the way. This could be a nice present for some kids who may not find out they're fake until they hit their teenage years and dad went for cigarettes and didn't come back years ago.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.23 AM (1).jpeg

Oh snap, here we go, the reason I bought these dumb boxes to begin with; MEW! Although it's a VMAX it was unfortunately non-holographic. Still cute, though, may keep one of these cards in my wallet for extra luck as he's been one of my profile pics for many years in and around Hive. Trainer and energy cards started to appear more often at this point.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.23 AM.jpeg

Two more non-holo V cards and another holo V card in this pack, the consistency of these holo V cards at this point was starting to feel weird. Although I didn't chekc how often they are supposed to be drawn in the original it was starting to feel suspicious, but maybe I was just really lucky or was not going to get a holo Mew, who knows!

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.22 AM (1).jpeg

BOYAH! The card I was mostly looking forward to getting! Holo VMAX Mew! What a cutie :3

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.22 AM.jpeg

At this point I didn't care any more what I'd get, chances are I'd probably throw most cards away so I don't have to carry as much luggage, I like to keep it light, but still a lot of packs left to open so let's see!

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.21 AM (1).jpeg

Another Mew V non-holo! More mews, more mews!!!

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.21 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.20 AM.jpeg

At this point things started to get a bit weird as there was a holo V or VMAX card in every pack, like, ehm, were they even trying to still pretend to be real or is this some kind of special box where each pack has a guaranteed holo? I mean I wasn't complaining but it was a bit suspicious. I couldn't be this lucky with my fake cards, right?

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.19 AM (1).jpeg

I like the gen 1 cards the most of course as that's when I was mostly into Pokémon as a kid, Gen 1 and 2 and after that I kind of lost interest.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.19 AM.jpeg

Not really sure what kind of version this Moltres is but maybe @daltono appreciates it as I remember he has a tattoo of Articuno which is one of the 3 legendary birds from Gen1.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.18 AM.jpeg

This one I got no idea what it is, probably something from recent generations, but the holo VMAX's and V's just kept on coming!

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.16 AM.jpeg

Jolteon! What a beauty! Actually impressed by how good looking these fake cards were, hadn't even noticed a difference from the original ones (not that I looked too deeply into them and what these packs would have).

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.15 AM.jpeg

Another different Mew :3

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.14 AM.jpeg

Here we have another Gen 1 Pokemon in holo, a nice and angry (as always) looking Gyarados!

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.12 AM.jpeg

This one actually caught me by surprised as I wasn't expecting the equivalent of Mew from Gen 2 to be in here as well and for me to get so lucky to pull it, nice nice!

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.11 AM.jpeg

I was on my last or second last pack when I pulled this last cutie, different art style and holo as well, very sweet!

Here's all the cards I pulled together, V's, VMAX's, holo V's, holo VMAX's, regular, energy and trainer cards all stacked on top of each other. As you can see they really gave me a holo V or VMAX in each pack so definitely suspicious. If that's how the original packs are I doubt the cards are worth much if everyone's getting some.

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-16 at 8.28.09 AM.jpeg

It also begs the question of how cheap is it to make these? Like seriously, I get that I bought them from a second or third hand shop and someone down the line must've lost on their initial purchase but there's no way they are able to create 36x9 cards for only $7.50. It's not like they are very cheap shit looking ones either, I mean these looked really decent. If I knew who'd create these and if that's actually the cost, I'd wanna have them create some custom cards for me as well, maybe $POSH PETS NFT could also have physical cards connected to their NFT counterpart? ;)

Let's cross that bridge when we get there, but for now I hope you enjoyed checking this post out and maybe reading something different than the usual rants of losers lashing out cause they can't get what they unfairly want to get on Hive as we discussed in my previous one. :P

Hope you're all doing well and focus on posting, curating and building stuff on Hive during these dumb markets and not financial advice of course but a good opportunity for some of you who've been wanting to grow your stake, I doubt Hive can drop much lower so personally I think the upside is way more worth the possible downside it still can get to. Definitely a good time to buy for that long term hold.

The great things about Hivers is also that there's so much you can do with your stake and on top of it earn more through posting and curating, which in a way gives you an edge on your investment compared to those just holding liquids on the exchanges and fomo dumping or pumping the price looking for a quick profit but most likely ending up selling for a loss. Wish there were easier ways to let them know what they're missing out on by not having their Hive staked up and be part of the network!

Either way, see you guys next time!