Following my passion against people's advice.


source

I've often heard tales of people struggling to discover their career path until much later in life, but for me, that wasn't the case.

I started figuring out what I wanted to do and who I wanted to become when I was in SSS1. I have always had a clear vision of wanting to pursue a career in media and communication. My father, on the other hand, never liked it, and one morning he told me to pick a practical course, claiming that courses like media wouldn't get me anywhere in life. I told him that I wouldn't change because it was what I wanted.

One day I actually visited one of my friends in her house because we were preparing for Jamb lesson,an exam that will get us into the university. So my friend's mom asked me what I wanted to do. and I told her that I wanted to become a journalist; she also told me not to pick journalism and to opt for courses like business management. However, I insisted that it was journalism I wanted to do.

I didn't mind what others were saying about the course because I was certain that it was what I wanted. and, to my surprise, I was given the course I wanted. Additionally, with the help of God, I got a scholarship from a media organization for women in journalism. It was one of the happiest days of my life. "Who knows? If I had not chosen journalism, I might never have had the opportunity to get a scholarship".

Embarking on a journey to become a journalist felt like a dream come true for me, a path I knew I was meant for. I dug deeper into my course of study and started honing my reporting and writing abilities. I felt more and more certain that I was headed in the correct direction as I gained knowledge.

Over the years, I had the privilege of interning in big organizations,covering significant events, meeting inspiring people, and experiencing the rush of breaking news. And trust me, I wouldn't exchange the amazing opportunities and experiences I've had as a result of choosing to follow my heart. I came to see that people who are enthusiastic and persistent in life tend to be rewarded.

Even though I know that I haven't gotten to my ultimate dream place yet, I'm grateful for the fact that I have taken a bold step towards becoming the person I aspire to be. I'm honored that, in spite of other people's advice, I had the guts to follow my aspirations and pay attention to my inner voice*.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency