CORE OF PARENTING


photo Source

Hello #HiveGhana. The issue of parenting is one area of life that I have identified needing a lot of caution and care. It is true that the minds of children are flexible and adaptive to change. Children are susceptible to every tiny piece of information they receive and they remain in their lives for lifetime. The things I would do as parent or guardian goes thus;

Firstly, I would like to build a form of parent child intimacy (relationship) with my children. The reason is simply because the first stage of socialization is the family. A child grows up to become what he is first because of how his growth with parents was like. A child can derail, but the first thing in grooming better children is to build a circle of intimacy as parent and child relationship is concerned.

Secondly, parents should be the first mentors of their kids. In order to be a mentor, I have to lead a life that is admirable. As a parent it becomes a duty for me to conduct myself in a manner worthy of emulation. If as a parent my child cannot consider me a mentor, then I don't think I am any better.

Thirdly, as a parent I like to inculcate religious and moral principles in my children. Character indeed is needed in all walks of life. So character development would be one area to focus on as a parent. One of the best ways to make a better person is through character development.


Photo source

Fourthly, i like to groom children to acquire a skill from childhood. I didn't get the opportunity to learn a skill from childhood and I really wish I did. However, I learnt computer operation. At the age of 18 to 23, such child will have vast experience in the skill and would be ready to pick a career from there.


Photo source

Aside skill acquisition, children deserve the best form of education. As one who has enjoyed same treatment from parents, it will really be a great pleasure to return a favor by offering the best education to children within my reach. Also a career opportunity.


Photo source

Finally, it would really be wonderful to create a social life for children. By Social life I refer to activities in sport, music, hubby, developing their writing skills, skills in craft, e.t.c. Children who enjoy these opportunities tend to exhibit their true nature, boost their confidence and courage.

Children are very fragile and susceptible to success or destruction depending on how they are trained. What we expose to children is what they grow up with. Thus, we must exercise care when dealing with Children.

This is a response to the competition on #HiveGhana on the issue of parenting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency