This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Things I wouldn't do and the kind of parent I want to be

https://www.peakpx.com/en/hd-wallpaper-desktop-noddn

Parenthood is a very challenging stage in life. Every parent's goal is to raise a responsible child,but one way or another, most children turn out the opposite of what they expect.

Things i would like to do better on:

1/Express their feelings
Growing up, I never had the chance to express how I really felt about an issue. Most parents continually contradict their children when they express their feelings; with time, they won't want to open up anymore, thereby bringing down their self-esteem and confidence. I wouldn't want to be the type of parent who wouldn't ask my child's opinion on an issue concerning them but rather urge them to express themselves; this helps boost their confidence and eloquency as they grow.

2/ Chosing a career
Most parents choose careers for their kids without asking what they really want to do. When a child deviates from the set path, that child is labeled a rebel. As a parent, I would rather let my child pursue his or her passion than impose mine on them.

3/Discipline
While beating is a form of discipline, it doesn't work for all kids; it ends up pushing the kids away without getting the needed correction for the action. Parents need to administer discipline in such a way that the children retain their dignity while not forgetting to use the rod when necessary.

4/Comparison
Parents compare their children to those doing well, whereby, unknown to them, they create a competitive spirit and animosity toward each other. Just as we were all created differently, every child is unique, with each having their own level of intelligence. I would rather encourage my child to do better and commend every good deed done, teaching them to be each other's keepers and cheering each other on.

5/Overly strict
Being overly strict, although for the betterment of the child, might lead them to feel like prisoners at home, thereby seeking solace in the wrong hands. I would rather be a strict yet loving parent and help my kids feel good and happy about themselves.

As the saying goes, parenting is like a rollercoaster. Some days will be smooth, and some days will be rough.It is not going to be an easy ride, but parents approaches to major aspects of their children's lives can either shape them positively or negatively.

Thank you @hiveghana for this interesting topic.Thank you all for reading my post,your comment are most welcomed.