Football; More Than Just A Game.

Indeed, old habit never dies. Somehow, we always find ourselves doing that thing we love no matter how long we have stayed without doing it. I believe it's natural, we don't need to force ourselves and just find it really relaxing and enjoyable.

Growing up, I played games like Whot, Ludo and others but I find some of them tiring these days while I have outgrown some. I don't find some fun or challenging like it used to be because I love challenging games. Too bad, I haven't tried to learn something new because of time so I just enjoy a few games from those days.

As a kid, I played football very well. It is a beautiful sport and a form of exercising my body. Everyone called me Papilo and compared me to the Nigeria star Kanu Nwankwo due to my super-scoring ability. Football made me very famous in the community and at school, I attended a few auditions with the hope of becoming a star one day but the dreams were cut short.

Being a striker I sustained lots of injuries and I take the blame because you can't find me among my peers. I always loved to play with older people who unintentionally injured me when they tackled me, it was part of the game and I thought I was preparing myself for the future until I sustained a serious injury. I had a few injuries that kept me out of the field for days before the big one that kept me out for months and it came with a strict warning against stressing the injured leg.

It was a tough time and seeing my mates play while I couldn't hurt me more than the pain of the injury. It took me close to six months before I could run around very well but the doctor's warning wouldn't just let me play football as I wanted.

Instead of maintaining my champion on the field physically, I started playing football games. It was the era of Java phones, I played on people's phones before I eventually got mine. It was all about Real football and PES, I played them on PlayStation as well and it was fun but nothing compared to physical football.

I have played different football games and DLS happens to be my favourite at the moment. It all started about three three years ago if I am not mistaken and I don't get tired of the game. It's my stress reliever and mostly play it when nothing interests me, times when I am slowly slipping into boredom.

The game is lively, there are different challenges and I can play against my friends or people I don't even know. I have been invited to play in different leagues but I am not always chanced and wouldn't want to be a setback to their competition, I just play to relax and have fun.

Another game I still enjoy is Ludo but the mobile games aren't as interesting as playing it physically which a lot of people don't like anymore. I still enjoy Ludo and feel good when someone chooses to play with me.

I see games as things to do for fun. Although, it might be challenging but not stressful. Whenever a game becomes too demanding of my time and effort both physically and mentally, I just walk away. Getting defeated isn't an issue as long as I enjoy playing, every defeat makes me a better player so I wouldn't mind getting undefeated by one person until I can defeat the person as well.


All images and video was gotten from the DLS2023 edition.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency