Gwote, the rich and tasty delicacy from the Plateau.

*Hello everyone, i am a newbie. It is my first time posting in this community and i am very excited *🤗.

Today I will be talking about one of my favourite topics, a topic that I can write about any day, any time: food! It is no news that anywhere there is good food; you can count on my presence 😊😂.

Food is an essential part of our lives; all living things need food for their growth and development. Aside from being as important as air and water, food nourishes our body and gives us energy to carry out our day-to-day activities, and I see it as a great source of joy. Good food practically uplifts my mood when I am down; permit me to say it is one of my "mumu buttons"🙈.

Every race and culture has its own unique dishes and its own unique way of preparing and serving them. Every type of food has its own unique flavor, texture, and nutritional benefits; hence, everyone has different food preferences. It can be obtained from different sources, including plants and animals. When it comes to food, I am a lover of good food. Everyone has their own favourite food; favourite foods have a special place in our hearts.

What is my favourite food?
Gwote acha (fonio porridge) is my favourite food; it is one of my go-to dishes any day, any time. It is a dish originating from the Berom people of Plateau State. Gwote means "porridge", while acha is a cereal crop grown in Jos and some other parts of northern Nigeria. It is said to be one of Africa’s oldest cereals. It belongs to the millet family, commonly called fonio, and is said to be the smallest seed of all the millet species. Acha is considered a rich source of minerals, vitamins, fiber, carbohydrate, and amino acids.

img_1694019928136_2.jpg

IMAGE DESIGNED USING PHOTO COLLAGE

Key ingredients of Gwote Acha
Gwote acha has many ingredients. This dish is made up of a combination of acha (fonio), yakuwa (sorrel leaves), spinach, spring onions, cabbage, beef, brisket bone, tomatoes, red bell pepper, salt, bouillon cubes, seasoning, garden egg, and carrots or groundnuts (optional).

IMG-20230906-WA0001.jpg

IMAGE IS MINE

Why do I love Gwote Acha the most?
Where I come from, we grow lots of vegetables; it has always been part of my food, hence my fierce love for veggies. Gwote is very easy to make and highly rich in nutrients, as you can see from the list of ingredients. It is simple to digest and aids in appetite stimulation. It is good for cardiovascular function, good for diabetes (doctors in my state do recommend it to diabetic patients), an excellent meal for weight loss, and also good for skin and hair formation. It is a recommended food for patients who are just recovering from surgeries, children, pregnant women, and nursing mothers in Plateau State.

Thank you for reading, I look forward to your comments😊.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency