Cold Retribution. Weekly engagement #34.

Sophie's POV

Today began as a beautiful day but ended up a sorrowful day. Looking at my reflection in the mirror, I could hardly recognize the beautiful woman, that was adorned to walk the aisle in a perfect white wedding dress just this morning. I can still recall the phone conversation in my head...


Photo by Alyssa Swedick from pexels

"Hey babe, you shouldn't be calling me now. I'm almost ready to go, so I'll see you in church" (silence). "Hey buddy, why are you silent, aren't you going to ask me how I look" (still more silence)...

"I'm sorry Sophie but I can't do this. I mean I can't marry you. You won't see me in church today cos I'm on my way to Mexico as we speak. I'm truly sorry for leaving you at a time like this but I need to chase my dreams...bye".

Elijah's phone call had shattered me. Immediately I screamed as I threw the phone away. My best friend and maid of honour rushed in to see what had happened but one look at my tear damped face and she knew.

"How could Elijah behave like this after everything you've done for him?" Jean blurted out. She has been my friend since middle school. We were more like sisters.

"Help me Jean, I'm so heartbroken right now. I thought I knew him, we spent five years together and we were seen as the best couple throughout college. Why did he leave me and on my wedding day?!" I screamed as I smashed anything in sight.

Jean came to me and consoled me. "It's gonna be ok, you are going to be fine, ok". I nodded my head and hugged her.

"I want him to pay Jean, I will serve him a cold retribution for this humiliation" I blurted out loud as I wiped away tears from my face.

"I'll help you achieve your aim, just trust me" Jean assured me. With this, a plan befan to form in my mind, "I'll make Elijah regret the day he was born".

Flash back

I met Elijah five yeara ago as a transfer student in Chicago. He helped me get settled in school and also took it upon himself to tutor me after classes. Soon we became close and our romantic journey began to bud. He proposed to me after my convocation and I said yes without hesitation, after all, "he was the love of my life"


Photo by Cottonbro studio from pexels

Moving out of school to face the real world, I began to notice some flaws but he always dismisses them by sweetly apologizing and a promise to change. Worst of all, he added gambling and womanizing to his list of flaws.

I took care of our bills as we were already a live-in couple but still he did not change. I felt once we goy married, he would be responsible to our family but my hopes were dashed as he incurred gambling debts everywhere and was always on the run. After not being able to tolerate him anymore, I broke off the engagement but my heart was still tied to him and when he came back after three months for a reconcilation with a promise to stay out of trouble, I succumbed. He kept his promise as we made wedding preparations. Turns out, I was fooled.

Luckily for me, I never told him of my grandma's will and the inheritance money kept in a trust-fund for me. I was an heiress who fell inlove with a riffraff but that riffraff will be caught soon.

Six month's later

For my revenge plan, I hired a private investigator to seek him out in Mexico. When his whereabouts was reported to me, I anonymously sent his location to a gambling house he still owed money. They sent some goons to go pay him a surprise visit im Mexico and to drag his sorry arse back to Chicago. He was beaten and locked up in their underground basement. He lost the use of one of his legs via the beatings but I felt that he deserved it.


Photo by Ron Lach from pexels

Two weeks after he had been locked up, I paid a visit to his underground cell. Elijah was looking miserable but there was no ounce of pity in my heart left for him. I looked at him for only ten seconds as I signalled a body guard to inject him with a substance. The money in my hands convinced the bodyguard to carry out my instruction. As soon as Elijah was injected, he began to comvulse but after a while he stopped and began to act like a lunatic. I smiled as I walked away with no ounce of pity or guilt.

"Elijah got served, best revenge is when it's served cold" I chuckled as I walked out of the basement and into the sunlight.

Thank you all for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency