Greenway in Spring

Screenshot from 2023-05-20 17-43-11.png

It was a beautiful day for a longer e-bike ride, my first of the year. I bought my Specialized Turbo Levo HT just before lockdown, and it's still going strong, although Specialized did have to replace the battery.

Strava.png

I don't know if that calorie count is accurate. I have read that cycling on an e-bike burns roughly 2/3 what you burn on unpowered bikes. But that's what Strava estimates. I would guess it was more like 450, personally.

I took it nice and easy, stopping to admire the flowers, and the views.

IMG_6500.JPG

I also had to slow down frequently for people and dogs, as everyone else was on the trail this afternoon, too.

IMG_6517.JPG

The may, or hawthorn (Crataegus monogyna) was out everywhere, with its heavy perfume pervading the air. It reminded me of a line from Patrick Kavanagh's poem that became the lyrics for Raglan Road:

her own dark hair like clouds over fields of May

IMG_6528.JPG

I snapped a few photos as I was going round (it was just over 25 km) from the saddle:

IMG_6527.JPG

I feel lucky to live near this trail, because it is almost totally off-road and leads through some really lovely countryside. The above photo is Norton Common, not strictly part of the Greenway, but just coming up to NCR 12, which I usually pick up going south for a bit before getting back on the Greenway at another section to avoid the only section that is on roads. The trail-markers seem to say you can ride on the pavement, but the surface is pretty rough and there are a lot of side-roads to contend with, so it's not as much fun as cutting through the Common.

This guy lives in a livery yard that is bang on the trail, and you have to get off to walk through it because they've put up a complex chicane to force cyclists to slow down, which is understandable. Mr. Chestnut here was kicking the door to his box, and looking in a specific direction so maybe he hadn't been fed yet.

Screenshot from 2023-05-20 17-58-06.png

The yard also appeared to have a resident floof, but it wasn't very interested in meeting me:

IMG_6505.JPG

Thanks for looking! I'll leave you with my favourite view, because it sums up everything I love about this ride, and this time of year.

IMG_6493.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency