Weekend trip to Möhnesee and Anniversary

We are already home again and had to work today. Coincidetally, I saw the post from @mypathtofire mentioning Discord Posting Topic - 'Summer Walk'. Perfect timing! Here is our hiking tour and summer walk. We often go out into nature for a hike. We do hike in winter and autumn too but more often in the summer months. It's not just the moving which is healthy for sure, it's also the fresh air and enjoying nature. No computer or stupid TV for a while. You calm down and have time to think about things.


Part of Möhnesee behind the dam

We planned to visit the Möhnesee in Sauerland. Parts around the lake are nature reserves. Sauerland has beautiful landscapes and some towns like Winterberg are well known by winter sports enthusiasts. So Sauerland is summer or winter a good place to visit and enjoy nature.


Hiking Tour - Day 1

The hiking tour goes around the lake crossing over the dam and some bridges.

➡️ 14,7 km ↗️ 130 m ↘️ 130 m ⏳ 3:19


At nearly every point we could see the lake. Sometimes we were very close and sometimes we looked through trees or bushes to see the lake. The tour wasn't as difficult as the last one. We had not many up-and-down walks and most of the ways were asphalt. That was the only thing we didn't like. There was no forest path or anything like that. I guess it was made for the tourists. A big thank you to my wife for making all these photos.

The photos above are from the dam and the lower and upper lake. It was weird to look down on one side and on the other side, you could nearly touch the water.

Now we see a mix of different views of the lake and pure nature.


The weather was beautiful and warm. I got problems with my feet for the last 3 - 4 km. I felt a little burn on both balls of my feet. It was painful but I walked further. Additionally, I felt pain in my right ankle suddenly too. Finally, at the car, I took my shoe off and there it was. Blisters on the feet. You can see only the large one but there was another one beside it. The other foot looked the same. We drove to our hotel and checked it, took a shower, and went for dinner in a little restaurant around the corner. Since I had still pain we went to a supermarket and bought some crushed ice. Back in our hotel room I make some ice water and stuck my feet in. That felt good.


Bathing in Sorpesee - Day 2

The original plan of hiking this day was replaced by the bathing beach at the Sorpesee. I could not really walk. We got a little breakfast in the hotel and checked out. It was a short drive. I'm not sure how long we have been there, but it was a bit too long. I looked like a red crab after that. 🦀 I applied lots of lotion later at home.


Anniversary

This day was also our anniversary and I said that we should check out a nice local restaurant. We found 'El Diablo' on google maps which had good reviews.

The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious. We both got a nice not too sweet and refreshing iced jasmine tea with vanilla and lime. We shared Bruschetta as a starter which was very fresh and the bread was amazing.
I had a nice burger with truffle fries. Never had truffle fries before but it was delicious. My wife got some freshly made pasta with pesto and a special cheese similar to mozzarella but more creamy. I think they made even the ketchup themself. It didn't taste like the usual ketchup you buy. We were both satisfied with this restaurant.

Burger with truffle fries

freshly made pasta with pesto

After this, we went back to the car and decided not to take the freeway. We drove through villages I'd never heard of before. It took about 30min more but was a nice chilled drive home.

It doesn't happen often that we both don't have to work at weekends. This was perfect and we both loved it.

I hope you like the photos my wife made. She allowed me again to use them and if you don't like them, she will probably cry. 🤣


chaosmagic23
Support chaosmagic23 on buymeberries
Posted using Ecency Love

Images and screenshots are from me or my wife

#edtopic #ecencydiscord #ctp #ocd #pob #pgm #posh

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now