Nostalgic vapors from a rising musical genre - VAPORWAVE

Today I just want to talk freely about a sound that always catches me, the VaporWave. It is not news that the genre gained space and fame in that decade and that it is in the category of "strange" sounds that the Boomer generation would probably wrinkle their nose on hearing. Much of its style is based on the deconstruction of famous melodies and choruses, but it often brings not only a bath of freshness (and numbness) to the ears but also a level of experimentation in the synthesizers that is astonishing even in the great decades. past that made the "sound of the future".

The past is a constant visit to VaporWave. Not only in the aesthetics of a few bits and the impression that you are experiencing a Japanese soft drink or computer advertisement from 1994, but also because sonically speaking, the sound intoxicates the soul with a kind of ... Steam? Nostalgic and very unique. The scene is even very anonymous, at least that's what I perceive trying to research about the musical style, there is no very clear organization between variations of the genre and categories. The era of youtube playlists has brought an infinite amount of music that overlaps with those classic Japanese anime images, cars driving at night in immense cities with neon lights, rain on a 32bit quality window, and so on. Usually, we just listen and don't even pay attention to absurd names to decorate, such as ** 猫 シ ** Corp or ** t e l and p a t h テ レ パ シ **. Certainly, someone is more in the know than I, of that genre, LOL, but that doesn't take away my right to be a sincere connoisseur. And even, I take the opportunity to show here my favorite VaporWave track, which I happened to discover was even from a Brazilian project! I had no idea!

This is Windows彡96 - Dashvile


source

It is not by far the most famous song of the genre but something about it took me deep and took me to some misty fragment of my childhood, while I played Donkey Kong on Super Nintendo with my cousin and waited for breakfast time on a hot day summer vacation, where we would then play with water in the backyard until our young and worry-free body tired. In general, it is impossible not to think of VaporWave as a nostalgic wave of this generation that grew up very informed and with almost an excess of connections.

I could clog the post with great classics of the genre, but I want to be selective and leave them to this one for now, who knows, maybe in the future, I'll do a "Top 5" session.

Thank you for your attention and your vote! One of my goals is to participate more actively in this tribe, which by far is one of my favorite topics, so little by little I am increasing my activities here!

Thomas Blum


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency