MusicMonday - A tribute to Green Day


Source

A little bit of my history with Green Day

Even though I don't listen to Green Day as much nowadays, they were a huge part of my teens. I had a big punk rock phase back then and Green Day was a huge influence for me and my friends.

I joined my first "serious" band just around 2004 when American Idiot came out and I remember we were just blown away by it and immediately set on a mission to learn and play all of its songs.

Many years later I got the chance to see them live with friends (some of which were in that very band years before) and it was awesome! Today, I was looking at some photographs and I found some of that concert and so I decided to make this #MusicMonday post all about Green Day!

They have released a BUNCH of records throughout their over 30 years long career and while I'm the first to admit that many of them are crap, there are a lot of great ones too, and therefore picking a few songs from their extensive discography was not an easy task. I tried to do my best here and I hope you enjoy it!

Basket Case (From Dookie)

This was the song that introduced me to Green Day. It's from their third album, Dookie, which is one of my favorites. I remember trying to play this song for the first time and finding it way too fast for my skills back then. Nowadays, when I play it with my band we push the tempo a little because we like it a little faster than the original. Go figure!

When I come around (from Dookie)

Yes, Dookie is such a good album that is going to feature twice in this list. I also wanted to add "She" to this list, but I thought it would be too many... I guess I'll have to make a post just for Dookie! Anyway, this is one of my favorite songs by Green Day. I'm not sure why but I think this was probably the first "Love Song" I ever dedicated to a girl.

Good Riddance (Time of your Life) (from Nimrod)

This song is a little different from Green Day's usual style being more of a love ballad than a punk rock song and because of that, some die-hard Green Day fans hate the song and the band forever writing it. I, for one, really like this song. It's a classic and deserves its spot on the list.

Minority (from Warning)

I love this song! I think it's so well written! The lyrics are good, the dynamics are great and I love the way they layered the different instruments that feature on the recording like the acoustic guitar, the harmonica and the rest of the usual instruments.

Jesus of Suburbia (from American Idiot)

American Idiot is another album that deserves its own post and because of that, I won't talk about it in detail here. I'll just say that I absolutely love every single song on that album and it was very hard to pick one to add to this list. I ended up picking Jesus of Suburbia because it's a work of art and also it kinds of sets the central theme of the album. It's actually 5 songs in one and I just love the transitions and the ending is just phenomenal.

That's it, guys. I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I did!

Do you like Green Day? If so, let me know in the comments what is your favorite song!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency