quiddity covers - politics schmolitics

As well as my solo stuff, I also make music as part of a duo called quiddity

We're a very sporadic duo. It's all quite organic - when some unknown stars align we come back into each others orbit and spin out some tunes.

We did/do a range of stuff - from ambient wanderings to big, bassy, beaty stuff.

We also got into the habit of doing the odd politically tinged cover.
Given the zeitgeist over the last few years, this little ditty keeps popping back into my head. And the more I watch our travesty of a government here in the UK, the more I think this song stays relevant.

New track available now on Spotify, Apple Music,.png
The original ad we used on Facebook.

It's a cover of an old Fun Boy Three track for those old enough to remember (1981!) - quite different to their version, though. I'm really quite pleased with the way it turned out. Dark, broody and pensive.

Our most recent cover is now 3 years old. My my. How time flies. A cover of a Waterboys song from 1985.

Fairly pleased with it - but covering The Waterboys, you're on a hiding to nothing, really. It's a high bar. 😆

While I'm taking this little trip down memory lane, I guess it'd be cool to look at the very first cover we did. The (English) Beat did a song called Stand Down Margaret in 1980 (I think. Thereabouts, anyway. Can you see a theme appearing around the covers we chose! Showing our age, I guess). It was a protest against the then Tory Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher. We thought we'd do an update for David Cameron in 2016. A few weeks after we released Stand Down David he'd gone. We're totally taking the credit for that.

it's an energetic little thing - sorta drum & bassy with a nice 303 workout towards the end. I still like it a lot - but it's dated a bit.

So there you have it. quiddity political covers.

It's maybe about time we did another...


Win Stuff!

My record collection listening chain is a series of occasional posts working through my 7" single collection (and maybe other records as well). The general idea is that I started by posting about the first record in my collection, then asked readers to reply with a random number from 1 to 100. I would then choose someone at random, and count on from the last record posted about by the number they have chosen and post about that record. Then we'll rinse and repeat until we get bored! Oh, and I also chuck in a 100 delegated Hive Power reward & Rising Star instrument card to the chosen poster as a 'thank you for playing'!

The latest instalment is here --> @gribbles/gribbles-record-collection-listening-chain-6


I make music!

Find gribblymusic & gribblystuff here --> https://flow.page/gribbles

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency