#weeklyspins and #musicmonday: Heading to the Movies

IMG_20200619_104135.jpg


My music listening has been pretty mundane once again this week. Many of us at my work are at a place right now where we are just kind of in automatic mode trying to get to the end of the school year.

State mandated assessments are nearly finished and with that my time should start freeing up considerably. This whole week at Walmart they have been doing a Vinyl Exclusives Event. I was browsing through some of the albums and I noticed that they had the Boyz N The Hood soundtrack. This got me thinking about some of the best soundtracks I can remember and I decided to make that the topic of this post.


Direct Link


If you have known me for a while, it is no secret that the Top Gun soundtrack is probably one of my most favorites. I have a ton of memories concerning this album. I originally owned it on cassette tape, and just recently I was able to pick it up on vinyl.

I am pretty sure I either wore out the cassette tape or loaned it to my friend and never got it back. I have some pretty funny stories concerning that tape, but this is neither the time or the place.

I noticed that this is the "bonus expanded edition" and they included "You've Lost that Loving Feeling" and some other songs on this playlist. The song is definitely in the movie, but it was not originally on the soundtrack. I have found there are a lot of cases where songs that are in a movie don't show up on the soundtrack. That has always perplexed me a bit.


Direct Link


You might think I am a huge Tom Cruise fan with two of his movies being on my favorite soundtrack lists. You would be very wrong. I seriously can't stand the guy, but the movies he was in had music that was a staple in my formative years.

I didn't own the Cocktail soundtrack, but my sister did. She had the cassette and we had a dual cassette deck, so I made a copy like everyone did back then and listened to it at will. I wasn't able to find a full list of songs from this album, but it is really great. You should check it out if you ever get the chance.


Direct Link


I am a child of the 80's so it is only natural that the music from that era would be very important to me. While many will say the soundtrack to The Breakfast Club and other movies like that are their favorite, I like The Wedding Singer. Simply because it pulls the best from all of those movies and puts them all in one place (two discs).

There are so many good songs on this soundtrack. I can't even begin to comment on all of them. If you want a 1000 foot view of what pop music was like in the 80's or you just want to stroll back down memory lane, check this one out!


Direct Link


I would be remiss if I didn't mention the Forest Gump in the list of my favorite soundtracks. Once again, two discs and a ton of amazing songs. This one actually takes you through the decades which I find really awesome. Both of these I mentioned are pretty great movies too, so if you haven't seen them, you should check them out.

There are a ton of others I could mention, but that is all I have for today. What is your favorite movie soundtrack? Leave me a comment and let me know. Better yet, write your own post and use the #weeklyspins tag.


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


@eos.detroit Staff Writer/BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency