Some Unexpected Finds (AKA Crypto is everywhere!)

IMG_20210610_180615.jpg


So for quite a few years now I have gotten somewhat of a vinyl addiction. Not quite as kinky as it sounds, I am talking records and it feels like a large portion of the world has also gotten the bug.

I'd like to point out that I was collecting vinyl records before it was cool again, but this new wave of interest in the format has definitely been to my benefit. A couple of years ago I got my friend interested as well. Our wives have been really understanding about letting us venture out to the nearest record store when we go camping.

That's what happened this past weekend...

I should have known we were in for quite the treat when I saw this sign on the window outside State Perceptory in Port Huron, MI:

image001.jpg


Although I am not shy about my lack of love for Doge, I do think it is cool that a business would be willing to accept the currency. I will get into that a little more later.

image009.jpg

image010.jpg


The building is pretty old. It sits in an old downtown area of Port Huron, right near one of the rivers. Pretty much everything about this place is vintage from the inventory to the atmosphere that surrounds it.

As you can see from the pictures they have a pretty decent selection of CD's and vinyl records. I probably could have spent most of the day looking at the decorative tiles on the floor and ceiling. It was a really cool place.

I was hoping they were going to have a larger selection of jazz records, but as a reseller, you can only get what you can get. I don't hold it against them at all.

After we had made our selections and we were getting ready to pay, I thought I would probe for some information and see if the guy would bite. I mentioned to my friend that I needed to take a picture of the sign out front. The owner of the store smiled and asked if I was into Doge. I said no, but I was into a lot of other stuff.

That started a good half hour long conversation that I was not expecting at all. It seems the owner had been into BTC pretty early and was able to purchase the store with the gains he made on that. I explained that I was more into DPoS stuff and we talk about all manner of crypto stuff. I mentioned Hive, he had never heard of it. Hopefully he finds this post someday and it piques his interest. I've got an account claim code ready if he ever does.

It was a pretty awesome afternoon, especially since I went in expecting only to find vinyl and ended up being able to have a great discussion about something I am really passionate about. We talked about MATIC and where we think the markets are heading... I had to stop myself eventually because I could tell my friends eyes were starting to glaze over :)

As I said, it was a great time and I got some good vinyl to boot. Here is the obligatory photo dump from my haul...

image002.jpg

image003.jpg

image004.jpg

image005.jpg


As you can see a lot of mellow oldies, but you should come to expect that from me right? If you every find your way to Port Huron, MI, make sure you stop into State Perceptory. Even if you don't care about vinyl, you can still likely have some great conversation about cryptocurrency!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


@eos.detroit Staff Writer/BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

All pictures taken by myself or @mrsbozz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency