How I Lost My Steem : An Experience to Learn from

20201029_211115_0000.png

Hello Everyone and I hope you all are have a great time over there? Well.. I probably think you should be having a good time with your gadget over there. It's actually a different case since my mood hasn't been really okay since yesterday night. As we all know from the law of cause and effect that "there's always a cause for every effect you see going on both in human life and the universe". This simply connotes I didn't just develop that sad or bad mood if not for an event that had happened to me yesterday. I also believe sharing this experience will not only enable you to learn from my mistake, it will also make my mind free since I've shared my problem to others (the burden of the heart becomes free). I suggest you grab some cool drink and pop corn for your personal enjoyment as I drive you through what caused my mood changes in mood ☹️.

About Yesterday

images (26).jpeg

Yesterday morning was really quite cool and lovely. It was really nice going through some blog post written by other authors on this platform. I was able to engage with some of writers by leaving lovely comment and upvote on their posts whenever I came across good quality content on the platform. The most interesting part of it was that I was eating delicious fried turkey and jollof rice which made my morning blissful yesterday.. I really can't forget that moment 😊.

Fast forward to the afternoon on that same day, I noticed I was extremely in need of cash and I started thinking about how I could actually get some few bucks just to foot some bills. I could remember having some steem tokens in my wallet which I earned on the platform. I then decided to go check my Steemit wallet and I got to know that I had close to 42 liquid steem. You know that great feeling that comes when you are about to receive a credit alert even when you haven't made any transaction but just because you are very confident that your crypto will definitely be converted into cash which you need very desperately.

I then decided to withdraw 40 steem into my binance account with the hope of making some little trades just to probably increase the amount of tokens which also leads to more income.

I opened my Binance trading app and I generated my steem deposit address and memo from Binance which is shown in the screenshot below ;

Screenshot_20201028-234645.png

I visited my Steemit account to transfer my 40 steem into my Binance account using that same memo and username. I was already feeling happy at this stage since the transaction time won't take long to be deposited into my binance account since it's not my first time doing things like that.

Screenshot_20201028-234518.png

After waiting for almost an hour, I couldn't find my steem deposited in my Binance account. I began to calm myself down thinking it was probably a network problem. I took that brave decision to wait for 24 hours the whole of yesterday with the hope of seeing my steem tokens deposited this morning but all my efforts went futile.

Where Did I Go Wrong? 🤔

images (27).jpeg

After the experiencing that whole event I began to question myself where could I have gone wrong. I decided to check on the receiver address from my Binance wallet to confirm if I never made any mistake before sending my complaint to their customer service.

Screenshot_20201029-175241.png

Guess what guys... I couldn't believe myself after I got to know I was the one who made that huge mistake. I was supposed to send my steem tokens to "deepcrypto8" and I mistakenly sent those tokens to "deecrypto8". I think the reason for my mistake was due to my mobile keyboard which gave me the full prediction of what I was typing since it already had it saved during previous transactions process as you can see below from the screenshot. I'm definitely gonna delete that shit on my keyboard today!

Important Lessons To Learn From My Experience

images (28).jpeg

#1. Always Confirm The Receiver Wallet Address Before Sending Your Tokens

The was actually the biggest mistake I made during the transaction process. You won't believe I lost 40 steem just because of a simple letter "p". I forgot to add letter "p" to the "dee" + "crypto8" which led to my loss. I just hope no one will fall victim of the same mistake again and I hope you learn from my experience.

#2. Don't Be in Haste and Always Take Your Time When Transacting

Another incredible mistake I made was that I was in a hurry to send the tokens maybe because I was just too eager to withdraw some steem since I was in dire need of cash. I was not also careful during the transaction process despite the fact that I saw the transaction confirmation page popped out from Steemit. I confirmed the transaction thinking every details were correct not knowing it's actually the other way round.

I'll suggest you carefully go through the transaction page displayed by Steemit /Hive account during transaction process to avoid making the same mistake I made.

#3. Learn From my Mistake and Don't Fall Victim

The last but not the least is that you should learn from my experience. It would have been more better if I had someone explained this to me very early but it's quite unfortunate I couldn't learn from anyone doing the same thing I'm doing to you now and I hope you won't repeat my same mistakes next time.

I'll have to end this post here because I feel that sense of regret the more I talk about it which makes me feel very bad. I think such is life and we tend to experience both the good side and the bad side of it.

Thanks for your time and I hope you have a great day ahead with love from @hardaeborla❤️💕💓

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPEGmYH893gKKiXYZDCwDyFeTmVZxaxHaQh9rvvi86Pdqi1v3m3xqW6b5m6yYL7GcnJmGTjoQFp.png

end post.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency