ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! Let's all step back and figure out what can be done to stop LOSING STEEM USERS

obraz.pngPlease allow me to begin by underlining and repeating a thousand times:

I'm generally not at all against using downvotes when it's necessary ...

INTRODUCTION

line2.png
... I'm also fully aware of how the amount of spam has been reduced, bots are no longer a problem and content discovery is simply a much better experience. However, it's important to understand and acknowledge that downvotes, though maybe a POWERFUL tool, the mismanagement of it can cause GREAT HARM to our blockchain.

And today I came across an awful situation, where a person I recognize and I've learned to value has been downvoted for the most ridiculous reason ever, which you could put in one simple statement:
I FLAGGED YOU, BECAUSE YOU DO NOT DOWNVOTE OTHERS!

Perhaps I'm exaggerating by being upset about it. However, simply because of DOWNVOTE ABUSE I've already lost more contacts on Steemit since the latest Hard Fork, than I've fingers on my hands and toes altogether.

Something needs to change, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!

I got downvoted because I don't downvote people

line2.png

In his latest post @livinguktaiwan explained the entire unpleasant situation. And he has the full right to feel like the victim of abuse.

Imagine for a moment, learning that you were downvoted by someone with 850k SP because of the reason below:

obraz.png

Quote:
(@transisto has been replying on behalf of @likwid)

Just please, let's stop here for a moment and think of the consequences of this particular mindset. How many of you guys are actually downvoting others, just because you can? How would you feel is your post would be downvoted - only because you didn't downvote anyone lately?

FEELING TARGETED

line2.png

obraz.pngIs this what we want this place to become?

Isn't our community already too small?

Are those behaviors going to help the price of STEEM to go up? Are we perhaps naive to think, that we won't continue losing new users? What about Steem PR? How do we want to see our platform by people "from the outside"?

All the marketing in the world will not help if user experience on steem blockchain will be painful and unpleasant. I've lost my count over people I knew here; which I valued and appreciated. People who gave up for that one reason - being downvoted for no reason or some absurd reason. Finally losing their faith and interest in Steem.

It's time to learn, that steem users are an asset to our blockchain. And those who join this platform often feel like they are being targeted. They feel that there is hardly anyone helping and guiding them; at the same time so many are willing to "punish" with downvotes. More often than not - without even warning or providing detailed explanation on why they were flagged.

WHAT CAN WE DO ABOUT IT? Building awareness - that's the answer

line2.png

It's very difficult to answer that question. After all - how can we combat downvote abuse.

Perhaps you, dear readers, have some ideas which you would like to share with me in the comment section? I read and appreciate every comment.

I strongly believe, that building and spreading awareness of this problem is a MUST. It's important to acknowledge that the problem exists in the first place, before anyone will find the answer and solution to similar issues.

Right now I would like to ask you all, to consider visiting original post by @likwid - where the entire conversation took place. Find @transisto comment and try to find a way to convince this user, that downvoting others for that particular reason is not going to serve anyone. Let's remember to be polite and mature.

I hope I'm not asking for too much. After all - do you want to end up being another victim of 850k SP downvote? Simply because you're not using downvotes yourself? Is it not in EVERYONE'S interest to change this user's mindset. And do it without causing confrontation.

RESTEEM IF YOU CAN

I would appreciate every resteem, as I believe this topic is quite important and I would like to hear what other people have to say.

So drop an upvote (50% rewards will go right away to support @project.hope) and share your own thoughts. I read all comments. Always.

Yours, Piotr

Link to original publication:
https://steemit.com/steem/@likwid/how-to-use-likwid-to-get-your-rewards-instantly-into-liquid-steem-and-sbd

Printscreen:

obraz.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
353 Comments
Ecency