Your Content - the Core of your Business

Content creation business – Your content is your product.jpg

This is the third post of this series where I try to show you that content creation is a real business and how to get better at it. In this post I want to talk about the core or your business, your content.

The previous posts in this series:

You can make a great brand out of yourself but still, if your content doesn't manage to grab and keep the attention of your customers (readers, watchers) then you won't be successful.

Make your content interesting

Your content needs to be interesting but this word can mean several things.

What is interesting content?

Try to go through what you read or watch every day and try to understand why you consume this content. What is the reason why a certain content can keep your attention? I've made the exercise and I've found the following reasons:

  • I like personal stories and life experiences
  • I like to learn things that are helpful for me or my projects
  • I like funny stuff
  • I also read stuff that has negative effects on me. Things that are scary or frightening.

The last category is what traditional media tend to use more and more. Automatically negative emotions like fear stimulate our attention. I suggest that you don't do the same as them. Let's build a more positive world...

For every content that you produce, you should be aware how you want to attract and keep the attention of the reader. What is your main message? According to that you can choose your image and your title. I will write more in the next post about how to package your content.

What is your media?

We are not all working the same way and we don't feel all comfortable with the same stuff. Some people like me love to write long posts (often they are too long and I have to cut parts out to make it more digestible). Other people need a huge amount of time to write something. Maybe for them it's easier to produce videos.

Videos are a great way to create content. For many consumers it's easier to watch a video rather than to read a long post. There are also several ways to make videos. You don't even need to show your face on them (you might want to check out my post about it).

Find the media that you feel most comfortable with but don't discard other media either. It might be a good idea to keep all alternatives open and bring variety to your content.

Make your content the right length

This aspect is often underestimated by authors but has a big impact on your followers. If your content is too short, it may not fulfil the quality criteria. If your content is too long it will scare people off. It's important to make your content the good length. To figure out what the correct length is, you can look at it from your own perspective. When does an article seem to have the most inviting length? For me its somewhere between 400 and 800 words.

When you watch videos, how long do you like them to be? For me it's between 2 and 6 minutes. If they are longer, I tend to play them in higher speed so that they fit into this time frame. It's probably not the most important aspect of your content but on a subconscious level, it can have a big influence whether people read what your write or not and how long their attention is at its maximum.

Maybe you would like to know how you can increase your creativity when writing and how to get ideas. Check out the post that I wrote about this subject

Question: What are the things that you need to think through most when you produce content?

As mentioned, in the next post I will write about structuring and packaging your product. How to make your content look good and inviting.




Let's connect on Hive, Lbry or on Publish0x

My free e-mail course: The 100'000 satoshis a week strategy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency