The Sanctuary (a short story) for | LET'S MAKE A COLLAGE: ROUND #75

LMAC-75-Ver4(2).png
Image created in Canva by @justclickindiva utilizing one of its free backgrounds

@shaka
Let's Make a Collage - A Contest for All Creatives on Hive - Round 75 - ✨123 HIVE in the Prize Pool!

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

I woke to a sudden stir. My ears pricked. I jumped off the small blanket and ran towards the wooden door. I scratched until I felt tired. It wouldn't open.

The door was too tall and strong; I was too short and weak. The sofa near the window offered the only view of something happening outside. The strange noise came from a car near the place where me and my sisters had fun running around in circles trying to catch each other's tails.

I didn't know what was happening. I saw my mom and sisters get into the car. I remember being in the car once. It was scary.

But they were leaving me here. Where are they going? Are they coming back?

I saw myself in the window. My big nose; red eyes; short, fat legs; one ear stood taller than the other; and no hair on my head. Who did this to me? Was it the reason my family left me, I thought.

Now I remembered I didn't look like my brothers and sisters. I ran back to the small blanket in the corner. It was the only place I felt safe. I fell asleep thinking about it. I woke the next morning shivering. I didn't know what else to do but cry for my mom. It was my time to eat.

I looked around and headed towards a familiar smell. It came from the kitchen. I hurried there and found the trays near the back door. I ate until my belly was tight, then drank some water. But I still missed my family.

Afterwards, I looked inside each room of the house. No sound and no one there.

I returned to the couch to look out the window. An hour later, the back door opened. I jumped down and ran towards the kitchen wagging my tail. My heart began to beat faster as I felt happy. Finally, I thought, my family had returned.

Suddenly, a man with something in his hand I didn't recognize came towards me. He was speaking words I'd never heard. The sounds frightened me. I ran in circles as he tried to put the object over my head. But I moved quickly.

"Come here you little..." The man said while chasing me.

My short, fat legs came in handy that day. Then, I saw a light shine through the opening in the back door. I ran as fast as I could.

Once outside, I kept running. I didn't know if he was still chasing me. I noticed some trees in the back of the house. It felt safer than the front side where people were passing by. So, I just ran as fast as I could toward safety.

I felt I couldn't trust anyone. Running deep into the woods, I stumbled a few times but hurried back on my feet. The sights and sounds I didn't recognize. I'd never been this far from the house.

I must have fallen asleep because it was becoming dark. The sounds and noises became louder. I sharp clapping sound; then water fell from above. I ran until I saw a clump of bushes. I knew I was now alone. No one could find me. I didn't know where to go or what to do next.

A small hole near the bushes caught my attention. It looked like somewhere I could hide. As soon as I put my head inside, I heard a hissing noise. This frightened me. I backed out of the hole and ran to another tree. I was tired. My body felt heavy with water on me, and now hungry again. I don't remember falling asleep.

The next morning I woke to a familiar sound like my mom and sisters made. I wanted to find out where it was coming from.

I didn't have to wait long. A tall, dark animal who looked like me for a long time started talking.

"You're new here. What's your name youngster?" Wow. I could understand him.

"I'm Bezzie." I kept nodding while he was telling him different things. I told him what happened at the house. He said he understood and wanted to help. He explained he was an "Onboarder" and one of many willing to help guide me. I didn't know what it meant; only that I wouldn't be alone anymore.

"I know a special place you can go, Bezzie. You possess all the qualifications to be accepted. It's The Sanctuary." He didn't tell me his name, just saying words and giving directions in a gentle way like my mom as though he knew what he was talking about.

"Will I see my mom and sisters there?" Excitement ran through me as I waited for his answer.

"Maybe, or you may find a new family. One never knows. One thing I can guarantee, you'll never be judged by the way you look. It's up to you to prove you worth."

I still didn't understand it all, but nodded anyway. Somehow I knew I needed to behave the way my mom taught me. Then I heard him talking to @brittandjosie. Strange name I thought. "What is that?" I asked.

He explained that @brittandjosie is a dedicated member of this place named Hive. He said she's a person who have animals like myself, his mom, and sisters. She's extremely generous and helps all new members on their journey to discover their true purpose in life.

My purpose, I thought. Why do I need one? I wondered. The Onboarder continued. She's a mentor, encourager, and a really nice person who would be willing to sponsor me for The Sanctuary. Then he said something really strange. "She comes from the sea and is a big deal at this place because she's rich in coins and in spirit. The 20% beneficiary fee she will gladly sponsor."

I didn't know what it all meant, but if she could help me get to The Sanctuary, then I wanted to meet and thank her.

My new friend, the Onboarder said he set up a Zoom meeting so that I could make application to this new place. I couldn't see but hear them. The Fairy asked me questions. She said that Mimi, the impatient one, fell asleep waiting for me to connect. Everyone was so nice. The Fairy explained that it was a place for everyone.

I couldn't wait.

The Onboarder stayed with me during the night. I fell asleep feeling happy. When I woke the next morning, he told me that @brittandjosie enlisted the help of @justclickindiva. She would be the one to create a portal to The Sanctuary. He said they had to hurry. The deadline for my application and acceptance was Monday, April 5 at a special UTC time. I didn't understand what time meant.

And, I didn't want to stay there in @shaka's forest. I just wanted to get to The Sanctuary.

Only a few hours left. The Onboarder said goodbye as he told me that @brittandjosie had paid my beneficiary fee and @justclickindiva had completed the portal. He said I had to trust him. The only thing left was for me to stand at the entrance to the brown-looking hole in the tree. He said to just believe.

My heart was beating fast. I didn't think I'd ever find a new home. I couldn't see what was waiting for me. But I did trust him. Immediately, the portal transformed into an opening that looked like a two-way mirror. I jumped in.

The Sanctuary. This place was all I had imagined. You wouldn't believe it.

I was finally home.

LMAC-75-Ver4(2).png

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

How I created "The Sanctuary"

Rezzie's journey began when @shaka posted this photo of a dirt road surrounded by trees. Everything about the woods looked a bit desolate and empty. I immediately knew I wanted to transform it into a magical place where someone would want to live. That someone needed a reason to want to be there. So a story took shape.

I started with the photograph provided by @shaka.

LMAC-75-ContestImg.jpg
Image used with permission of contest owner for contest

Next, I transformed the background of the photo into a magical landscape. I accomplished this by uploading the contest photo into the online photo editing and filter program, Deep Dream Generator.

Below are the details:

Type:
Deep Style 2

Used settings:
Enhance: None
Resolution: 0.6MP
Iterations Boost: x1
Style Weight: 50%
Style Scale: 100%
Reserve Original Colors: No

LMAC-75-DeepDreamGenerator-V2-SmallOrig.jpg

LMAC-75-DeepDreamGenerator-V2-Style.jpg

text16.png

Here is the transformation of the photo utilizing the style:

LMAC-76-DeepDream2.jpg

Next, I uploaded the filtered photo into Canva. I used this program to complete my collage.

Finally, I uploaded all the additional free images I wanted to use with the filter to create the collage as follows:

Screenshot_2021-04-04 LMAC-75-Ver4.png

Below is the final result.

LMAC-75-Ver4(2).png
Image created in Canva by @justclickindiva utilizing one of its free backgrounds

Let me know what you think of Bezzie's new home. Also, let me know if you can find him waiting to enter.

I invite you to join in the LMAC. Contest details are located below. I'd like to see your collage.

I also leave here for your enjoyment other versions I created of my collage that I think are interesting in how the various colors changed the dynamics of the final image:

imageedit_1_8241503747.gif

text16.png

imageedit_4_8979554758.jpg

text16.png

imageedit_1_2652065642.jpg

text16.png

imageedit_3_5599721172.jpg

text16.png

text16.png

imageedit_4_2290536539.gif

CONTEST RULES

What is Let's Make a Collage?It is a weekly photography and collage contest.
Who created the contest?@shaka is the contest owner.
What type of contest is it?This Contest utilizes a single photo provided by the contest owner as the basis for you to create your own photo collage by adding to the photo provided.
What are the rules?1. Use as your starting point for your collage the photography provided by the contest owner. It is located on the contest owner's post for free use without any copyright protection.
2. Entries need to be posted to the LMAC community and should contain a reference to this post.
3. By submitting your contribution you agree that your artwork remains public domain and that it can be copied, modified and distributed, even for commercial purposes, without requiring further permission.
4. Any graphical element that is added to the photography either needs to be your own original work (e.g. own artwork or photography) OR needs to derive from the public domain (having no copyright protection).
5. IMPORTANT: Indicate the source of all materials used in your accompanying post. Otherwise your entry can NOT be put up for the final vote.
6. All sort of editing, modification and/or manipulation is allowed as long as no copyright is affected.
7. Entries need to set the LMAC community account as 20% beneficiary to be eligible for the dynamic component of the prize pool.;
What do you win?Prizes listed on the contest owner's post.

@traciyork initiative - #hiveblopomo (Created a post for my LMAC Round #75 entry today for my blog)

@flaxz - @iamalivechallenge (Created a post for the LMAC Contest for my blog today.)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency