Swamp Creature: A Collage for LMAC #92

shaka 92 swamp gif2.gif

I succumb to my addiction once again. The LMAC collage contest, Round #92, is in progress. While I don't enter the contest, I do make collages. The latest, shown at the top of the page, was inspired by @shaka's template photo. Since I spent some time in my childhood wandering around swampy terrain, @shaka's picture elicited an immediate visceral response.

Here is @shaka's template photo:

ag3vFp4 - Imgur.jpg

I grew up in the foothills of the Shawangunk Mountains, locally referred to as the Gunks. I don't have a picture of the swamp we used to traipse through. To get an idea of what wandering around the foothills was like, here's a Youtube video of a nature walk. Of course, we didn't have a trail, or signage. The foothills were our playground--raw, beautiful and kind of scary.

I was not yet school age when these expeditions took place. My brothers, older than I was, would lead. Their approach was a little like that of drill sergeants. If you can't keep up, you get left behind. In the forest, in a swamp, that was always a sobering possibility.

The picture below reminds me of my childhood hikes.

Verkeerder-Kill in the Shawangunk Mountains
Verkeerder_Kill daniel case 3.0.jpg
Attribution: Daniel Case. CC license 3.0

swamp creaure accent.jpg

LMAC and the LIL Index

There are three basic elements in my collage this week. There is @shaka's template photo, which every week forms the basis of our collage contest. Here are the rules for the contest. There are images borrowed from our unique image library, #LIL. Here is a link to our library Index. Please note that these images are copyright free, and anyone may contribute to the library or borrow from the library. And then, there is my imagination. This is the most fun part of making a collage.

The images I borrowed today are from @justclickindiva (a beautiful drawing of a plant, maybe ?) and @cetb2008, (another beautiful drawing, of a fish)

just click flower.png

cetb fish.png

The swamp creature was derived from this bit of plant material present in @shaka's photo:

swamp creature origin.png

I went over to Gimp and painted over this image until my creature came into being.



An Intermediate Step in My Collage Process
shaka 92 swamp creature6 for blog.jpg



I invite all members of the Hive community to join in the fun. You can see there are no limits on what you might do in one of these collages. You'll meet a lot of nice people if you join us, and you may even win a prize.

Thank you @shaka for all the work you do, for the inspiration and for the opportunity. Thank you LMAC community for the good times. I want to send a special thanks to @quantumg, who is helping to make our image library a functional and rich resource for LMAC and the Hive platform as a whole.

lmac graphic3.jpg

Inkwell logo.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog
Hive on!

.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency