A LITTLE MORE JESUS

When I was younger, I thought it was a sin to ask questions about my faith.
Heck, even right now when I do my religious research I kind of feel like I'm doing a wrong thing.

We were raised not to question our faith. I honestly wonder where such slavery in religion emanated from, but that's how a lot of Nigerians are raised.

We attend church services every other Sunday, hear stories about people who lived before us, how they did better than us, how some did worse than us, and how some did exactly what we are doing.

In all these teachings, when a child looks beyond the surface and asks intelligent questions, the response he or she gets from an instructor is to not 'ask questions that would confuse them about their faith'.

Focus on what's written in your bible, they say. If you start thinking outside that, you'll lose track of your faith. It's a sin to ask some questions, they say.

These repercussions are what has caused a lot of one-sided beliefs in our society. People who simply believe what they are told is in the bible, without truly searching the bible to know more. And, people who fear to ask questions, with the belief that anything outside what is seen, will get you to your eternal death.

Well, I'm no longer afraid, now I'm just intrigued.

statue51320_1920.jpg

I have often heard from people about how Jesus is mentioned in other religions. Up until some days ago, I never took the time and the pain to probe that information. And I was intrigued by the information I got about Jesus. And it further got me wondering what others have to say about this Jesus that the Christian faith is hinged so strongly on, and I found out some really interesting facts.

Asides Islam; Judaism, Baha'i faith, Druze faith, Ahmadiyya Islamic, Scientology, The Urantia Book, Raelism, and Religious science all recognise the presence of a being, physical or spiritual, called Jesus or Isa or Michael of Nebadon.

The Islams exalt Isa, a prophet sent to earth through the very respectable Maryam, his mother, whom God found worthy to give the glory of carrying His Prophet. Isa is recorded as one of God's special prophets who was sent to guide the Children of Israel and preach a new Gospel.
Although there's a disconnect with the belief of how Jesus died, as the Muslims believe he was taken to Heaven in his physical being, who=ile few believe he was crucified and taken up in spirit.
One event I found very intriguing from the life of Jesus was the part in the Quran where it was told how Isa in his cradle spoke on behalf of Maryam when she was accused of being a loose woman. That was one story that the Bible missed out on, among others, we're not e=aware of.

Other religions have their stories, but for now, I'll end with this, continue tomorrow?

Contact me for your articles and short stories

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency