Hive Meet Up in Moalboal

Hive meet up at Cebu Dive Center. From left to right: @iamyohann, @ybanezkim26, @diveratt, @discoveringarni, and @scubahead. Image courtesy of @discoveringarni.

Last Sunday was a blast!

Meeting with @discoveringarni, @iamyohann, @scubahead, and @diveratt was epic! Nostalgia kicked in as I didn't have a meet up for a very long time. Cebu has been very noisy with meetups and I'm one of the organizers back then, but it was all in the past. Albeit casual, it's my very first meet up since the birth of Hive and also my first time meeting them in person. I have interacted with them on-chain for months and I always looked forward to meeting them. It finally happened!

Image courtesy of @discoveringarni.

One of the best assets of Hive that people often overlooked and underestimated is the value of human interaction. People tend to focus too much of the price that they forget the priceless connection of people from different walks of life. I always say that I'm socially awkward, but I love meeting those I have interacted on-chain. It's putting the face of the username and it made me appreciate more the type of content they share. To those who became my friends on-chain, I look forward to the day we'll meet in person.

Here's what happened last Sunday:

We have always been in contact with Laarni (@discoveringarni) and Yohann (@iamyohann) on Twitter to discuss about @whoaretheyph and talk about any other things in life. They always expressed their enthusiasm to meet me in person and I could definitely say I share the same enthusiasm.

I always said that I would visit Moalboal months ago, but due to the lockdown, plans were always postponed. The original plan was supposed to be October 20 and that's immediately after I resigned from my day job, but my workmates cancelled the plan. When I heard from my other friends that they would have a weekend vacation in Moalboal, I told them that I would go with them. Finally, the plan pushed through last November 14!

We stayed at Pacita's Beach Resort in Panagsama which is just walking distance from Cameron's (@scubahead) Cebu Dive Center. I already had a few chats with @scubahead about a planned collaboration, but it was not pushed through because of an emergency on my part. I promise I have not fully abandoned the plan. I will still go back maybe after the Cebu City's stricter border control is lifted.

Panagsama Beach, Moalboal, Cebu

We arrived on Saturday, but I didn't tell them that we were already in Panagsama. Laarni messaged me on Twitter on Sunday and that's when I told her we were already in Moalboal. We agreed to meet in Cebu Dive Center at 4:00 PM. My friends expressed that they would go swimming that afternoon and I didn't want to swim anymore because I got really tired, so I was left to look after all our stuff. I told Laarni to just ping me if they have arrived at @scubahead's place and I'll just tell my friends I'll run to the dive center.

And there she was, waiting for me outside the dive center. It's amazing she immediately recognized me when she saw me even if I was on a mask. We went inside and there was @scubahead with his laptop and iPad. Across the table was @iamyohann and they were just chilling while waiting for the sunset. Laarni and Yohann's daughter, Anais, was playing by the beach. I was introduced by Laarni and we just talked about some stuff.

Mt. Kanlaon was visible that afternoon.

I have some confidence with my written English, but when it comes to speaking, I could say I sucked at it. I also thought that I'll immediately get awkward, but, surprisingly, I was comfortable being with them even if I could barely understand the accent. I have no problem talking with Laarni because she can understand Bisaya, but @scubahead is British and @iamyohann is French. I had to muster everything that I have just to keep up with the conversation.

A few moments later, @diveratt came and joined in with the conversation. Cameron's really funny. We were giggling most of the time as he shared stories about his boat, and his son's very unexpected questions in public places. By the way @scubahead, we still didn't know the answer to your son's last question. 😂


I left them like once or twice to take photos of the afternoon scene at the beach. I finally got the chance to capture what @scubahead witnesses every afternoon. Laarni said that the dive center was always full of people before the pandemic. They would often hang out at the bar while watching the sunset and hear stories of people from different walks of life. Now, it feels like a ghost town. There were a few tourists because it's Sunday, but on weekdays, it was really quiet. Most of the expats already sold their properties and already went back to their countries for good.

I finally had the chance to see the famed sunset of Panagsama Beach that @scubahead witnesses everyday.

When the sun had fully set, I was invited to have dinner with Laarni and Yohann. Cameron and @diveratt said that they would watch Formula 1 in Cameron's house. Too bad I wasn't able to meet with @millycf1976. Maybe next time.

We played billiards while waiting for our orders as if I know how to play. 😂 We need to play again when I come back because it was a tie. Image courtesy of @discoveringarni.

They brought me to Garden Village which is really a cool place. I'll have a different post for the place. Laarni said that they were friends with the owner and that they would usually hang out there.

We talked a lot during dinner especially the one's related to @whoaretheyph. That's when we came up with a special edition to help those devastated by the super typhoons Goni and Vamco. Yohann then played billiards with his friends and Laarni and I were left "catching up" even when it was our first time to meet. I really had a great time.


I think we talked for about three hours before I realized it was already late. Laarni then dropped me off to the resort. My friends were asking where I was because I didn't join them during dinner. I said I met my friends from Hive for the first time.


I now have new friends in Moalboal which is truly amazing considering how socially awkward I am! Thanks to Hive!

I guess that's all for this post! Thanks to @discoveringarni, @iamyohann, and @scubahead for the warm accommodation! See you again soon!

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
60 Comments
Ecency