Contacting North London (England) with a 30 meters long wire antenna on shortwave (14.220 MHz) from Hunyadfalva, Hungary (2022.09.08)

Sometimes I like to experiment. Today I put up a 30 meters long wire in the garden approximately two meters above the ground between two trees. I used this wire as an antenna. The built-in automatic antenna tuner of my amateur radio transceiver (Yaesu FT-450D) is able to tune this wire on any of the radioamateur shortwave bands.

Today I made two QSOs (two-way contacts) with it. Both on 14 MHz. The first was a Russian station from near Moscow (Odintsovskiy Region) (RM2D Mats) (1427 km) (KO85FJ<>KN07EH) on 14.235 MHz but I have not recorded that on video.

My second contact with this wire is England (North London) (2E0YLZ Nuno) (1549 km) (IO91WN<>KN07EH) on 14.220 MHz. I recorded this contact on video. I uploaded the video to my YouTube channel, so you can watch/listen to it down below. You can also hear my Harris's hawk screaming a few times in the background.

I am a licensed radioamateur (my callsign is HA5KZO) since 2012.01.16. I am doing this (transmitting on the radio) legally.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency