Silk Screen: The challenges and pleasures of this job // Serigrafia: Os desafios e prazeres desse ofício

I think that at some point in the past I already talked about my work with serigraphy, but I think it's more than fair to update you a little on how my "life project" is going. Yes, I can call it a life project, since I've been dedicating my last 4 years to this work, with many ups and downs, of course. Firstly, because learning a new function is always complex, and in the case of screen printing I had to learn from scratch all the numerous techniques necessary to do a good job. For those who are in doubt about what I'm talking about, screen printing is a technique (very old by the way) of printing t-shirts (and other things, like packaging in general, for example), but my focus is on t-shirts. As I have always been enchanted by art in general, I was not far from something that transforms and reproduces so many and so many drawings that I have already made, in an almost magical way, being able to replicate it anywhere (even on the walls) and as many times as I wanted and with the colors I wanted!


Creating color is one of the most fun and therapeutic steps in the screen printing process


The squeegee technique (the way the ink is printed on the fabric, with the leaked canvas) is extremely important and it took a long time for me to get the hang of it

Usually my service ends up being more common than you might think, reproducing logos and images from the most diverse companies and needs. Often the seamstresses and knitters in the city outsource the prints to me, that is, the client is theirs, but the screen printing is done by me. So some services are relatively monotonous, like replicating a logo in 20, 50, 100 pieces. A fact that guarantees me to keep myself busy for a long time but it is not as profitable as producing my own pieces, and this is where a big challenge comes in, and my current "bottleneck of work". Make screen printing more profitable by developing a more niche-focused path, create a brand, expand the concept and not just be an "outsourced" who reproduces work for others.


Production of the back print of a rock event I did recently


Another festival that I made some pieces, the vibrant green of this print was very good, I really liked the result!

This is tricky when you're alone in the business, and unfortunately my experiences with a partner in the past haven't worked out very well. Being on my own (and as the only member of my own team) I have to handle all the functions at the same time, and given my constant need to be making parts for others, it's hard to have free time to plan a "new company", but I confess that's not all, because I could very well, in the space of time of the last few years, have gradually climbed this complex but possible journey of creating an advanced business. But so many steps require knowledge that often eludes me. It is necessary to have a very fresh and active mind to think about concepts, logo, brand, symbols, niche, authorial prints, vending system, shipping, credit card, raw material, everything organized and working in perfect symmetry in a reliable project that go run by itself and I just need to "take care". Many times I started some ideas like this, but several died on the beach, whether due to organizational difficulties, problems with marketing and design, for not being able to create an initial amount of creative copyright prints that are sellable, and each phase of this journey needs to be looked at carefully. .


Sometimes I do some serigraphs with a partnership, this one is from an amazing illustrator from the neighboring city, who always has fantastic art ideas


My space is a chaos that I need to keep organized constantly, because I sleep and practically live in the workplace, I feel like those orientals who live in capsules, I confess, I am living proof that it is not healthy to work and sleep in the same environment, but I manage as I can, soon I hope to build my room in a room next to the screen printing workshop

Now I am again entering a cycle of making this happen, I have a project in mind and different from the last time, I will try at first to do it alone, and this decision is made primarily because unfortunately I don't have the capital to be able to afford an employee (which would be VERY welcome), and also because I don't know anyone who could be a lucid and efficient partner (serious enough) to work hard and make the project happen. And my initial plan is to create the business project as if it were a monograph, explaining the whole system, to then present it to a possible investor. The investor theme is a separate issue and it is probably worth a post here on Hive, maybe on Leo, because I need to understand and find myself in the concept of angel investors, people who assume the financial part of a project and trust this venture so that so I don't get stuck on the likely biggest problem of the self-employed: the lack of money to undertake with quality.


An old print I made for a client, these individual works are always very exciting to do and end up paying more financially than massive reproductions


More beautiful purple blends from recent work

Despite the regrets, and everything that I mentioned as a "problem", I continue to do my work daily, on the one hand acting on a daily basis with these manual and outsourced functions and on the other, planning and organizing myself for this niche market that I am flirting and I know very well that it is very promising, and that, I hope that in a few months I will have the project fully assembled and ready to get the necessary investment to turn it into reality and finally take off! Thanks for reading and voting!

Thômas Helon Blum

Português

Acho que em algum momento passado eu já falei sobre meu trabalho com serigrafia, mas acho mais que justo atualizar um pouco vocês sobre como anda esse meu "projeto de vida". Sim, posso chamar de projeto de vida, já que venho dedicando meus últimos 4 anos nesse trabalho, com muitos altos e baixos, é claro. Primeiramente por que aprender uma função nova é sempre complexo, e no caso da serigrafia eu precisei aprender do zero todas as inúmeras técnicas necessárias para fazer um bom trabalho. Para quem está em dúvida sobre o que estou falando, serigrafia é uma técnica (muito antiga aliás) de estampar camisetas (e outras coisas, como embalagens em geral, por exemplo), mas meu foco são as camisetas. Como sempre fui encantado pela arte em geral, não fiquei muito longe de algo que transforma e reproduz tantos e tantos desenhos que já fiz, de uma forma quase mágica, podendo replica-lo em qualquer local (até nas paredes) e quantas vezes quisesse e com as cores que eu quisesse!


Criar cores é uma das etapas mais divertidas e terapêuticas do processo de serigrafia


A técnica de passar o rodo (o modo como é feito a impressão da tinta no tecido, com a tela vazada) é extremamente importante e levou um bom tempo para eu acertar o jeito

Normalmente meu serviço acaba sendo mais comum do que se imagina, reproduzindo logos e imagens advindas das mais diversas empresas e necessidades. Muitas vezes as costureiras e malharias da cidade terceirizam as estampas comigo, ou seja, o cliente é delas, mas a serigrafia sou eu quem faz. Então alguns serviços são relativamente monótonos, como replicar uma logo em 20, 50, 100 peças. Fato que garante-me se manter ocupado por um bom tempo mas não é tão lucrativo quanto produzir as próprias peças, e é aqui que entra um grande desafio, e meu atual "gargalo do trabalho". Tornar a serigrafia mais lucrativa desenvolvendo um rumo mais focado em nicho, criar uma marca, expandir o conceito e não ser apenas um "terceirizado" que reproduz trabalho para os outros.


Produção da estampa das costas de um evento de rock que fiz recentemente


Outro festival que fiz algumas peças, o verde vibrante dessa estampa ficou muito bom, gostei muito do resultado!

Isso é complicado quando se está sozinho no negócio, e infelizmente minhas experiências com sócio no passado não deram muito certo. Estando por conta própria (e como único membro da própria equipe) eu preciso arcar com todas as funções ao mesmo tempo, e dado minha constante necessidade de estar fazendo peças para terceiros, é difícil ter tempo livre para planejar uma "nova empresa", mas confesso que não é só isso, por que eu poderia sim muito bem nesse espaço de tempo dos últimos anos ter pouco a pouco galgado essa jornada complexa porém possível de criar um negócio avançado. Mas tantas etapas exigem um conhecimento que muitas vezes me foge. É necessário ter uma cabeça muito fresca e ativa para pensar em conceitos, logo, marca, símbolos, nicho, estampas autorais, sistema de venda automática, frete, cartão de crédito, matéria prima, tudo organizado e funcionando em perfeita simetria num projeto confiável que vá rodar por si próprio e eu apenas preciso "cuidar". Muitas vezes comecei algumas ideias assim, porém várias morreram na praia, seja por dificuldades organizacionais, por problemas com marketing e projeto, por não conseguir criar uma quantia inicial de estampas autorais criativas que sejam vendáveis, e cada fase dessa jornada precisa ser olhada com cuidado.


As vezes faço algumas serigrafias com parceria, esse é de um incrível ilustrador da cidade vizinha, que tem sempre ideias fantásticas de arte


Meu espaço é um caos que preciso manter organizado constantemente, por que eu durmo e praticamente moro no local de trabalho, sinto-me aqueles orientais que moram em cápsulas, confesso, sou a prova viva de que não é saudável trabalhar e dormir no mesmo ambiente, mas me viro como posso, em breve espero construir meu quarto num cômodo ao lado da oficina de serigrafia

Agora estou novamente entrando num ciclo de fazer isso se realizar, estou com um projeto em mente e diferente da última vez, eu tentarei à princípio faze-lo sozinho, e essa decisão se dá primeiramente por que infelizmente não tenho capital para poder bancar um funcionário (que seria MUITO bem vindo), e também por que não conheço ninguém que pudesse ser um sócio lúcido e eficiente (sério o bastante) para trabalhar arduamente e fazer o projeto acontecer. E meu plano inicial é criar o projeto de negócio como se fosse uma monografia mesmo, explicando todo o sistema, para em sequência apresenta-lo a algum possível investidor. O tema investidor é um problema à parte e provavelmente vale uma postagem aqui no Hive, quem sabe no Leo, por que preciso compreender e me encontrar no conceito dos investidores anjo, pessoas que assumam a parte financeira de um projeto e confiem nesse empreendimento para que assim eu não fique travado no provável maior problema do trabalhador autônomo: a falta de dinheiro para empreender com qualidade.


Uma estampa antiga que fiz para uma cliente, esses trabalhos individuais são sempre muito empolgantes de fazer e acabam rendendo mais financeiramente do que as reproduções massivas


Mais algumas belas misturas de roxo de um trabalho recente

Apesar dos pesares, e de tudo que mencionei como sendo "problema", sigo fazendo meu trabalho diariamente, de um lado agindo no dia a dia com essas funções manuais e terceirizadas e por outro, planejando e me organizando para esse mercado de nicho que estou flertando e sei bem que é muito promissor, e que, espero que em alguns meses eu tenha o projeto inteiramente montado e pronto para conseguir o investimento necessário para transformá-lo em realidade e enfim decolar! Obrigado pela leitura e pelo voto!

Thômas Helon Blum

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency