Merida, the place to live in Mexico

image.png

Life is made of constant changes and continuous growth and evolution, some times these changes are good, and some others they help us grow. Merida is the safest and most secure state in Mexico; the law is very strict, people actually follow the rules and norms without hesitation - because unlike normal Mexicans, they actually care about other people and respect the social and legal boundaries even if they can skip them - and one of the most if not the most important part of Meridian society: You can actually trust cops; cops in Mexico will participate in kidnaps or roberies, or make a blind eye to situations, but not in Merida, in Merida cops are good and care about their community.

image.pngimage.png

In the state I live in, people live in fear. Every day there are rapings, murders, roberies, and mugs, and kidnaps. Several years ago I stopped doing many things such as going out for walks after sunset for fear of getting mugged, raped or kidnapped; I stopped frequenting places I used to visit on a weekly basis because some of them became gunshot hotspots due to the alcohol, gangs, drug wars and much more. All of this began a few years ago, before this kids could go out and play on the streets, you could go out at night for drinks and actually walk from bar to bar, and the only thing you had to worry about was drunk people fighting or making the usual disturbances, but no guns and no criminal activity.

image.pngimage.png

It is for this reason that I can't wait to move to Merida and begin a new life. It will definitely be complicated and hard, after all every big change is, especially because I will be leaving my family behind, my friends and the places that were part of my life for so many years, but all of this comes with change, it comes with the job.

As I mentioned, the main reason I want to leave my state is the safety and security, but the reason I picked Merida is also its resemblance to an actual paradise on earth: beautiful beaches, cenotes, caves, archaeological ruins, swamps, mangroves, jungles and much much more.

image.pngimage.png

I traveled to Merida a few months ago and the main reason I did it, was to organize the project I want to develop once I arrive in paradise. Of course, once I was there, I took the chance to visit a lot of place and get to know my soon-to-be home state (thus, the pictures I am sharing right now).

image.pngimage.png

Some months ago I got a knee surgery and when I was in Merida I was also in rehab - not going to the clinic per se, but I was still recovering from the surgery. But thankfully my knee wasn't an obstacle to tourist around and get to explore places there, the only problem I had was when I visited one cave and I had to crouch and slither through, which proved to be a challenge, a real challenge.

image.pngimage.png

Going to Merida a few months ago, made me eager and look forward to being there already. I just can't wait.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency