Samsung Gear VR - Still relevant for me - Cheap VR

VR hardware can turn out to be expensive real quick, if its on PC now days we are talking $500 and up, don't know but for me that's expensive, I don't game on VR I just watch 2D and 3D content.

The reason I like VR headset its because it disable the environment distractions, Im 100% concentrated on the screen, its a simulated big screen, its not a cinema experience but I guess with higher tier hardware might get to that point.


Source

Around 2017 somehow I got one of this cheap VR headset, real cheap like $10 and I had an Android phone so I started to experiment with 3D content but notice pixels were not small enough, the fact is I have I have this two magnifying glasses and my phone in front of them, meaning they are making the pixels on my screen look bigger, at first I was the best experience for me, we talking times when the Oculus Rift was a hit but latter on I stop using it because the higher the resolution of my media the worst it look, pixel look so big it would cover a face in far distance so I stop using them and delete all my 3D content.


I don't know about modern VR Headset but I have to say its not convenient, at first it was a full ritual:

  • AC have to be on because my face start sweating at first and glasses start to fog
  • Wifi has to be AC and up
  • Phone battery charge
  • Bluetooth head phone or speaker charge
  • Be alone if not you will constantly get scared
  • Phone screen resolution has to be high

I still have to consider some of this troubles but after moving to better hardware is less.

  • Iphone instead of Android, battery at 50% will last for an entire 2hr movie no problem
  • Bluetooth JBL speaker battery last for hours
  • Even with Iphone Xs there are times when something is just too far that a pixel can cover the entire face, number, image, what ever you looking at.
Going phone VR content is convenient if you already have a phone with high resolution, I consider the Iphones have great display, recently upgrade to Iphone 13 since my XS screen broke.


Yes

I got two of this Samsung Gear VR with their control for $35 on Ebay, at first wanted to get a Galaxy S10 as specs say but eventually after I Google it there were a lot of people using them with Iphones so I gave it a try, hardware is ok, I cant complain they are confy, for example I turn on the AC at 24c, setup the speaker, open the app to play the media, get the phone on the Gear VR, put the headset and lay down on my bed, from there its clear sky. I feel no weight on my head, Iphone doesn't head up since its on a close environment the screen lowers brightness at the same time it doesn't fry my eyeballs.

When it comes to hardware what makes the difference is the screen resolution and the amount of pixels per inch (ppi), there is not much difference between the Iphone XS and 13 but I got it cheap so its a deal.


Samsung Gear VR - Specs
Source

Iphone XS vs Iphone 13 - Display
Source

The Software

Hardware I have to say is the easy part, when it comes to hardware I try a bunch of apps on Android and latter on Iphone, at some point I was even converting video format to 3D that took hours when it was a movie and it was 1080p content, no 4k, I'm not at the 4k level yet $$$.


Software I try:

  • Kodi: lots of features to adjust resolution
  • Plex: got hacked so I scratch it no matter what
  • Jellyfin: lack few 3D content resolution features

Finally, for now, landed on VRPlayer on Iphone

Its $1

So far is my way to go, it has a client that lets me play media from shared folders and also let me resume the content, only format it doesnt manage is .mkv but Im fine with it since most of my media is .mp4 . I have a VPN connection setup to my home so I can stream my media on my VR headset if I want too, already test it, it depends on both ends internet connection.

What I love the most about this app is that it split the screen without having to change the media format and let me move the screen far away, I use it at 70% with the Iphone Xs, havent test it with Iphone 13 yet, still have to migrate.


This is how the menu looks like once you start playing.

I can see the times on the left no problem but cant clearly see the steering wheel data

I does have its hold backs when it comes to resolution, clearly its not a full VR headset its just a cheap option and I use it to watch 2D content, so far has been working without problems but I think Im soon to jump the gun on a Quest 2 or a PlayStation VR headset first edition, those I can connect to my PC, keep in mind I only use it to watch tv series and movies, most of the movies and episodes I write about I watch them this way, so far works great only keep in mind the cons and the things you need once you have this combo.

AC, phone battery, Bluetooth audio battery, AC Wireless, if not you may experience lag or your phone battery die. I hope this post gets you into VR, its a cool experience and Im sure with high end hardware must be very cool but with this little so far Im satisfied to watch all my 2D content. I have try this method on my sister Galaxy S21 and look good, you can even use the remote control of the headset, but I have Iphone.

Please let me know if you watch 2D content on VR headset and how you do it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency