Lemongrass and Other Mosquito Repellent Plants

Last week when I visited my mother-in-law's house, I noticed that in a corner of the living room there was a small plate filled with some kind of spices that was placed on the floor. I also found the same thing in a corner of the prayer room.

Apparently it was lemongrass cut into pieces to repel mosquitoes. And when we stayed that night, it didn't feel like there were mosquitoes that annoyed us at all. Unlike usual.

At my own house, there used to be almost no mosquitoes. I don't know why there are so many mosquitoes at home lately. Usually we use electric mosquito repellent to repel mosquitoes. But the problem was, over time my husband became short of breath. It was the same thing when we used mosquito repellent spray.

So, I'd like to try her natural method.

I bought a few stalks of lemongrass. I cut a stem of lemongrass, and put it in our room. There were still a lot of leftovers, so I put it in a glass jar and placed it on the table in the living room.

Sereh potong.jpg
(Photo taken by me)

That night we slept more peacefully because there were no mosquitoes at all.

The next day, a mosquito appeared. But seems like it was a bit disoriented, and after that it disappeared somewhere. Maybe fly away from the room.

I also put another piece of lemongrass in the bathroom. It's not bad, there are no mosquitoes flying around my ears when something needs to be done there.

So I thought about buying a mosquito repellent plant that could also be a decorative plant. So I browsed, there are several plants that can be mosquito repellent besides lemongrass.

Lavender

Often used as ingredients for mosquito repellent lotion. The smell is strong, mosquitoes don't like it.
Lavender Angelonia.jpg
Image Source


Rosemary

The smell will disorient the mosquitoes. But for humans, it can be used as an additional seasoning.
Rosemary.jpg
Image Source


Geranium Citrosa

Usually used as a decorative plant in the corner of the room. For mosquitoes the smell is too strong, for humans it can be used as aromatherapy.
Geranium Citrosa.jpg
Image Source


Catnip

A type of mint leaf. Cats love the smell, but for mosquitoes it smells bad.
Catnip.jpg
Image Source


Lemon Balm

A kind of mint smells like lemon, mosquitoes don't like it. But for humans it can be used for vegetables, tea, herbal medicine, and decorative plants.
Lemon Balm.jpg
Image Source


Since my house is small and outside the house is not possible to grow plants, I think it's more suitable for me to choose a small size plant or two, which can be placed inside the house and easy to maintain. But I haven't made a choice yet. Any suggestions, guys?


Thank you for stopping by and reading this post. See you again!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency