Getting a bit deeper into: A polaroid from Space, and Bogino.

Hi all!

Yesterday, I surely had a blast while making new art. It has been a while since I set aside my work to create something to mint. To challenge myself, I wasn't planning on anything specific theme-related. Channeling what has been buried under a pile of work. And what did I know? I spend about 4-5 hours creating two new pieces.

In this post I'll cover a portion of how I created the artwork and share the photographs that I used for it. If you missed the live stream, I've converted both artworks to 2-minute speed lapse clips that you can find and watch below.

Cheers,
Ruben





1) A polaroid from Space

The evening started with creating "A polaroid from Space", I had no idea what to make, so I started browsing through my library of photographs. As I was browsing, one image popped out of and I started using that photograph as a base. When you've seen my earlier work, you'll see shapes like circles come back often.




A polaroid from Space

A polaroid from Space - by Ruben Cress
Platform: t.b.a.
Editions: 10



Not much later, after I added a galaxy and created a planet with a water texture on top of it, I had the idea of making the artwork look like a "polaroid" as if someone took a picture in space with an analog polaroid camera. Just imagine. All I had to do was adding a floating person. I found and added a photograph of myself when I was in Sweden. Saves me the trouble of asking permission.

For this artwork, I used four photographs and one artwork that I created before. I used the artwork just to add a texture to the floating guy. The rest of it is all brushes and blending, layers and layers.


Some photographs used in "A polaroid from Space".










I'll be minting a total of 10 editions in total on a platform I still have to think of. I have the option to mint on OpenSea, MakersPlace, Rarible, or AirNFT. While I prefer MakersPlace over all the above, I probably will mint it there. I just have to figure out how to fix and mint the work with these gas-fees issues.


Check out this speed lapse to see how I made it from scratch.
















2) Bogino

After a short break, my hunger to create wasn't fulfilled. Listening to Axel Thesleff didn't make it easier, his tunes just get me in a mood to create. That's why you hear his tunes over and over again when I live stream. "Bogino" just happened. I mean, while I was previously browsing for the first artwork, I saw an interesting photograph of a sculpture. Ironically, it was a sculpture of a sculptor. After I was fired up after finishing the polaroid artwork, I was ready to create something new. Itchy as I was, I quickly searched for the sculpture image and used it as a base.

At first, I wanted to devote this artwork entirely and exclusively to the Opera. Which I almost ended up doing, before using photographs for textures from all over Europe.



Fun fact: Bogino is a 8K FULL RES Artwork

Bogino

Bogino - by Ruben Cress
Platform: MakersPlace
Editions: 7



For this image, I used 7 or 9 different photographs. Most of them have been fully undergoing post-processing for some hours. Which is funny. The base image I haven't touched since it popped out of my camera and the photographs that I use just for "small" details (I love these details) have been heavily nurtured into beautiful Fine Art Photography. I hope whoever sees it, will appreciate the time I've spent on these details. I for one, love how it turned out.




Some photographs used in "Bogino".


















I will be minting this artwork on MakersPlace, and I'll be minting a maximum of 7 editions only. The reason why I'm minting more than one edition is mostly that I've only been doing 1 of 1 editions. The other reason is that I couldn't find so much information about Bogino even though he was a famous French Sculptor residing in Paris (just look around and you'll see Bogino :)).


Below, you'll see the speed lapse that you can watch. It's 2 hours+ converted in 2 minutes.







Thanks for visiting and reading,
Ruben

Follow me on Twitter | Instagram | MakersPlace

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency