Another Day Another Scam | An Imposter Posing As @theycallmedan

There's no dearth of scammers in this world. Be it online or offline, you'll always find bad actors trying to rob you of your hard-earned money.

Hive is no exception.

( There's a tl;dr at the end for anyone that doesn't want to read the whole post. )

roadsign464653_1280.jpg
Source

Just a week ago, there was a scam going around on discord asking users to download a hive wallet on the pretense of a security update. You can read all about it on @sidwrites's post here.

I had a similar experience albeit with another scam.

This is a scammer and not the real Dan. Please beware.

A few hours ago today, I received a direct message by @theycallmedan on discord. Like any sane person, I went over to his account to see if he has his discord on his bio or on any of his posts. Nope.

I went over to threespeak to see if they have a discord. Nope 2: The return of nope.

At this point, I'm already on alert mode. But since I was bored and had nothing else to do, I decided to see how it will unfold.

One tiny part of me was also hoping it to be the real guy because then it would have been pretty fricking awesome to be noticed by someone like him as a good content creator.

But hopes are meant to be shattered.

Spoiler alert: It turned out to be a scam. I entertained the scammer for a while so that you won't have to.


How The Scam Unfolded


Here's the whole conversation.

Screenshot 155.png

Pretty harmless conversation till now, just making it look like he's genuinely interested in my content.

And here comes the punchline.

Screenshot 156.png

At this point, it was clear it was a scam and not a well thought out one, to be honest. The one that was going on last week at least seemed a little convincing.

Even so, I decided to go on to see at what point he gives up.

Screenshot 157.png

Screenshot 158.png

All he had to do was to comment "yes" but it was too lame apparently. After my last text, he went ahead and deleted all his messages and now it seems like I was talking to myself like a total madman.


Please maintain caution when talking to anyone on discord especially if talking in private. This is just one instance of this type of scam, there's no telling how many accounts the guy has.


TL;DR: Guy posing as @theycallmedan texting users on discord asking 50$ for daily upvotes.


If you think this post benefits someone please consider reblogging it.

Have a nice day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency