My introduction and proper beginning of the Hive adventure

Hello Hive!

I'm here to introduce myself.

My name is Pusen. I'm from Norway where I work as a teacher. Hive was something that I really only stumbled upon while browsing Reddit. I did some research and decided to sign up for it. After lurking around for a couple of days now, getting a better understanding of the platform and finding my bearings, I decided to power up and go for it. For anyone interested in a fun fact I can tell you that Erling is an old Norse name meaning "son/descendant of jarl". In pre-medieval times in Norway the jarl was basically a territorial chieftain.

IMG_0444.jpeg

My hobbies and interests change from week to week. I'll go from a full on craving to learn how to draw one week to dropping it and learning how to cast my own dice the next week. I'll find out that casting dice was to hard so I'll start writing my own D&D adventure instead. That's way to time consuming so I'll read a book about birds instead. My attention span is not always the greatest. Although my interests are all over the place I do have some mainstays in gaming, Dungeons & Dragons, Geocaching and writing.

The great thing about writing is that it can be done about anything. Not only that but writing about the things you love can make you appreciate them more. When experiencing something I like to sit down, reflect and put it in writing. Pictures can sometimes be enough but I find that after a while the context fades. Pictures accompanied by text on the other hand can keep the memory alive for a while longer. And why not go the extra mile by putting it on the blockchain where it's, theoretically, eternal?

That has been part of my fascination with this place for the last few days. Every word and picture put up here lives on as long as there are nodes. Forever chained up in the network of blocks. Quite poetic. Not only that but the people who are providing this space with content and experiences seem to genuinely care and that's the really captivating part. I want to be part of that.

What I hope to provide

The things I would blog about can't really be generalized into something else than different kinds of life experiences. These could range from:

  • Finishing up a video game and reflecting back on it.
  • Something cool and/or fun my D&D (Dungeons & Dragons) group did.
  • My general experience of being a DM (Dungeon Master) of D&D.
  • A great hiking experience.
  • Some cool and interesting finds while Geocaching.
  • Something I learned. About myself or just about anything.
  • Daily life.

I need to stop the list there because I feel like it could really go on forever. My question now is: Is this the kind of content people would like to read? If so, do you have any pointers as to which communities I should explore?

I'll end it here. I have this thing that if I start talking I'll sometimes never stop. I've told my pupils that if that happens they have to just stop me and say that enough is enough. We need to get some actual school work done. It's a blessing and a curse.

I'm looking forward to getting to know the community better. See you around!

WhitagramImage.JPG


A special thanks to @daltono for reaching out and welcoming me. If not for his open arms and informative pointers I'm not sure if I would have written this post. It's not hard to recognize that this man is a giant and a gem to the community. Now that I powered up with some HP I'll start to actually respond to your comments.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments
Ecency