4 years of living in Kharkov city || Recalling the History of Kharkov, Ukraine

The relation between me and the Kharkiv city is totally strange, I personally don't understand our bonding. Sometimes it seems like we are connected to each other but sometimes I feel we are complete strangers. I still consider myself a foreigner, after all, there is nothing like a Homeland. It will be complete stupidity if I compare this Kharkiv city to my own Dhaka city of Bangladesh. After all, nothing can be compared to the city where I was born.

Today I have completed my 4 years living in Kharkiv. Long time right!! I never thought I will be able to survive in this unknown city but I finally have done it. I have adjusted and merge myself with this city, still feel like a stranger but it's from psychologically. A funny story is when I was 15 years old, I have read about Kharkiv in a storybook. I never paid attention to that and never thought my destiny will take me here. At that time Kharkiv was the capital of the USSR and culture was completely different from now. Anyway, it was a Bengali political novel by Shahriar Kabir called "কার্পেথিয়ানের কালো গোলাপ". One of my favorite novels so far... The story started from Romania Bucharest and later the name of Kharkiv came into the story...

I hope one day I will be able to explore Romania as well...


I was recalling those memories suddenly in the morning. After waking up, I was looking at the date of the calendar, then I have realized I have passed 4 years here in Kharkiv so far and many more years are coming...


20210228_170531.jpg


I have been into Keiv (the capital of Ukraine) once for paperwork and I didn't like it at all, to be honest. Keiv is a nice city for exploration but not for living. I don't think, I can adjust there. Kharkiv is comparatively cheap and a modern lifestyle can be easily found. You are free to follow your culture and religion as well. Everything is available here for living a decent life. I personally feel this city is perfect for the living who don't like metropolitan life but want a modern decent lifestyle. Right now you need a minimum of 500$ every month to lead a decent life...


20210228_170901.jpg

20210228_170904.jpg


This is an old boulevard bridge known as University Hill. During the Soviet period, it was known as Proletarskyi Square because the civilization of Kharkiv started from here.

Proletarskyi_Square,_Kharkiv,_Ukraine_(03).jpg

Chervonozavods'kyi_District,_Kharkiv,_Kharkiv_Oblast,_Ukraine_-_panoramio_(6).jpg

It used to look like this during the Soviet period so nothing has been changed so Far. That bus stop, the multinational building is still there. Mighty Lupan river can be seen easily from here even some beautiful monasteries as well. I can relate the current scenario with these old pictures, after all, nothing has been changed so far except lifestyles.

During the revolution in 1917, Kharkiv suffered a lot, and later phase to phase, the city developed slowly.


In 1654, on the hill at the confluence of the rivers Kharkiv and Lopan, the construction of a powerful fortress began to protect the Russian lands, and in particular Moscow, from the raids of the Crimean Tatars. The fortress was built by Ukrainian settlers, who, escaping from the Polish gentry, settled here with the permission of the Moscow king Aleksei gave Kharkiv residents considerable trade benefits, which contributed to the rapid growth of the city's wealth.
Ukrainian settlers built new fortifications and carried defensive military service. In 1655 in Kharkiv lived about 600 military people, and the entire population was about. 2000 people. Part of the city's inhabitants was engaged in craft and trade, but most of them lived in the settlements and were engaged in baking.



20210228_170745.jpg

20210228_170858.jpg


I enjoyed walking on this square, after all, I have become part of this city. Yes, I am a foreigner and I don't know much about the history of this city but no matter how much I know about this city, this city already earned respect in my eyes. It could have destroyed during the war but still, this city is representing the history of the Soviet Period. It adopted modernization but the historical part of this city is untouched...




Love

Priyan



qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png


Explore Life with Priyan...



Snapchat1407797301.jpg

DSC_0610.JPG


"I am @priyanarc... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thought easily..."

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png



Find me on youtube...
Don't forget to subscribe to my channel...
You can find me on Twitter...

Original post written by @priyanarc...
All the pictures used are captured by the author...


qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png

ezgif.comgifmaker 2.gif

If you want this kind of GIF for yourself, Let me know...



ezgif.com-optimize-min.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency