GREECE IS ON FIRE - REPORT FROM WILDFIRES

GREECE IS ON FIRE.png

Hello world and fellow Hivers

The Goal behind this post

Most of you know about me because I love crypto games and I really love writing about my experience with them but today we are not going to review my progress from some game or a battle in Splinterlands. Today we are going to discuss a very serious topic that affects all of us despite how close or far we are from the source of each problem. As most of you have understood from the thumbnail we are going to have a talk about Wildfires! The topics we are going to cover in this article are first the impact of a Wildfire on the environment and each area, some ways to prevent a wildfire and last I am going to inform you about the Wildfires that are burning Greece right now. This subject is not so simple and I can't cover everything in one article so I decided to break it into parts and this will help also, to inform you of any new Wildfires or the course of the pre-existed ones.

Impact of Wildfires

There are several things that a big wildfire could impact and the first thing that we can list is ourselves. As I said before I will try to focus on each article to a specific cause and I will try to analyze it as much as I can. So wildfires can harm people seriously in the long term and the short term, by causing them serious damages like burns, cardiovascular and respiratory problems, anxiety, etc. Depending on the size of the Wildfire, it could lead to huge air pollution and cause problems for people not only locally but globally. That happens because several chemicals are released into the air through the burning of the forests like CO2, CO, etc. Those chemicals are spread through the smoke and if there is a stiff wind it could spread to other locations and cause problems for other humans. Also, there is a possibility that the fire would spread through a landfill and that could do the smoke potentially even deadlier (imagine the smoke to be apart from pesticides, tires, plastic, car batteries, etc). According to Diakakis (2016) there are 206 deaths from forest fires in Greece from 1997 until 2003!

Prevent Wildfires

source

That's a very helpful guide, from the department of conservation and natural resources of Pennsylvania. Keep in mind that many forest fires are caused by humans and with that logic only we can prevent them! Of course, there are some management techniques that the state must do like proper management of the forests and prevention measures (fire-breaks), detection, etc. We might look at some of them in the next posts let's stick to what the simple citizen can do in order to minimize the next outbreaks!

Active Wildfires in Greece

2022-07-26 (2).png

source

These were the 3 big Wildfires in Greece in the last 4-5 days, I will show you photos from all of them and I will update you on their status. I just saw that there is another big fire that started a few hours ago in Mandra, Greece but I don't have any new information! I will update you in the next post about this wildfire too because I saw in the news that it's dangerous. Also, I saw in the forecast that we are going to have a heat wave that is going to last at least 10 days and I believe that the next days are going to be very dangerous with these extreme temperatures.

DADIA FOREST

295329737_938031914258354_311456249063460726_n.jpg

This is a picture that I took from my car when I was passing through and this is the reason I decided to make this article. Because the nature of my job is the environment, I was visiting this specific forest many times for several educational reasons and I had many great times there. So when I was informed about the situation there I was very upset because I really loved spending time there. I will drop some links in order to understand the scale of the disaster there. You have to keep in mind that in this National Park live many rare Birds of prey.

This was the observatory of Birds of Prey, whatever was left of it tbh.

I believe these heartbreaking images speak for themselves.

Lesvos

Things seem bad on the island of Lesvos too, the mayor of the island said that he believed over 20000 acres of wild land has been burned so far. The situation today seems better than in the past days.

Elis

The images are pretty bad from here too, this place has a history of Wildfires and things are going to worst. The interesting thing that I found out today was that police investigating arson because in the last 20 days more than 15 Wildfires have started. Also, there is already one arrest for arson in Elis. The Wildfire here today seems in control!

How can I help?

Except for the environmental disaster in these areas, there is another aspect of the Wildfires and it's that many people's homes, fields, and property are destroyed by the fire! You can help by sending some money to the Hellenic red cross, I didn't find out something else except that until now but when I do I will inform you! If you have any questions do not hesitate and ask me in the comment section! If you want to help through Hive, let me know and I will try to find a way to do it!

Thank you for your time

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency