Enola HOLMES


One line that struck me when the trailer for this movie came out was where Millie Bobby Brown who acts the role of Eniola Holmes blurts something along the lines of 'I didn't want to die before I met you but now I do' on the train with Louis Partridge who plays the role of Lord Tewksbury in Enola Holmes. I just knew I had to watch this duo. That was one reason. Another was/is my fascination with Henry Cavill whose character has been ingrained in my head forever as' The witcher'. I just was intrigued about watching a happy, buff, empathetic kind of Sherlock Holmes. .

Well, Enola turns tables around and makes me appreciate the role of female saviors, not in the conventional way we're used to; the pathetic way of laying their lives and happiness down at the altar of men's ambitions, but in a fun, fighter, Tom boyish and intelligent kind of way. She has fun all throughout this movie and she invites you to do the same with the frequent turn to the screen where she has short monologues with us, the audience.

I've seen some interesting quotes that people have tagged as lines they chose to be their favorite and mine were :
_

'You have to make some noise if you want to be heard'

'Look for what's there, not your own way of doing things'_

I had a' gotcha' moment with the twist in the end where it was discovered that it was actually
Lord Tewksbury's grandmother who was responsible for wanting to kill her grandson. I didn't fully understand her passion for 'England' as she called it. I was half expecting Enola to pick up the rifle in that scene and knock her out but she's a better person than me and I'm grateful I could catch myself in time to think about how horrible it would be to knock an old lady unconscious for trying to murder her grandson after murdering her son 🙄.

I loved how this film dealt with the nuisance of worrying about how Enola would cope by herself in London. I'm a huge fan of removing money worries from movies. The lack of anxiety I had when Enola was changing her dresses with that wad of cash lying around and even when she was scammed into taking that terrible rat infested room makes me rate this a ten out of ten movie. I really did not need any robbery scene to lend authenticity to the line about Enola not knowing how the real world worked, because as is cleary depicted throughout, she did know how to handle herself both as a sophisticated 'lady' and a 'man of the world'.

Enola is feminist movie that leaves you with a magic feeling as you marvel at the expertise of the entire cast, the feel-good emotions you get from a budding romance and the happy & wicked events with 16 year old detective, decipherer and savior of lost souls.

If you like the idea of Sherlock Holmes, his sister is just as exciting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency