The Real Value of Hive Contests

20191001_160118.jpg

I had just won the Lottery, that was how I felt the first time a tidy sum showed up overnight in one of my posts and was flooded with comments.
This was some three and a half years ago when I first joined this blockchain which then went by another, once revered name!

Communities doing curating have been around from the time I joined in mid 2017, and when my post is spotted by a curator, it's always a huge boost for the morale and the Hive wallet; wonderful encouragement to do better next time!

Of course should a big Whale come swimming past and like what he/she sees, the lights start flashing and the bells start ringing in my head again;)

In actual fact, that is how I still feel E-V-E-R-Y single time my post is spotted here on Hive today!


Communities on Hive

Hive certainly is a much more welcoming platform now that one can subscribe to a community and post directly to it, so a newbie has a much better chance of being seen with the large number of community curation projects.

The value of joining and posting through communities that represent a topic which is of personal interest cannot be overemphasized, unlike the old platform where you really were just a lonely little plankton in a vast ocean; often feeling like you were swimming against the current after putting your heart and soul into a post that no one laid eyes on, except for the friend that introduced you to the platform!

This is very disheartening, BUT it helps to have a stubborn streak, be bull-headed and just swim on hoping to reach fertile waters sooner or later!

However, not everyone has that kind of disposition; some would simply float away and get swallowed by the bigger fish!

My advice to any newbie is to join communities that is relevant to your interests and post through them if you want to be heard!

I was going to list some of my favourites from foodies to travel to natural medicine to communities that cater for many other interests, but there are way too many that I really enjoy, so I suggest you simply explore and find your own niches, like I am still doing with new communities being formed regularly!

Oribi.jpg

Enter the Contests

The value of Contests are under-rated and misunderstood by many here on Hive.

In the world we live in, one would enter a contest with the aim of winning not so?
It really would defeat the object of entering if that was not our sole purpose!

Here on the blockchain called Hive however, we have to shift our mindset.
It's a thrill when one wins a contest, or even gets an honourable mention, but that's not what it's all about here, and I will explain it from my perspective!

Whether you win or lose, your content is being read and that in fact is the main prize!


Kindred Spirits

Engagement is what keeps the blockchain alive and that's what starts happening when entering contests as you meet up with kindred spirits; people who share your interests and philosophies on life.

What a fabulous way to connect and learn about the way people live in various parts of the world!

The value of this engagement has been priceless for many during the months of hard Covid lockdowns worldwide.


Growth

As my favourite genre is food the very first contest I entered was the old sandwich contest SSC run by @jaybird some time back on the old platform.

IMG_20190519_092446.jpg

I've learned a heck of a lot from the various Hive foodies that I met through the many contests here, and I will list some current ones here for anyone interested in joining:

  • The Humble Sandwich has a brand new monthly B.I.S.S. Contest run by the Dude @mondoshawan, whose motto is Peace Love and Grooviness.

  • @qurator, the community that has been supporting original content since 2017, offers something for everyone and runs the weekly Hive Top Chef! Contest where contestants are given a specific ingredient to cook with.

  • The talented creator of personalized HIVE Profile Signatures @zord189's Hive Creative Contest has been challenging all Foodies with weekly colour-themed food challenges.

Having a keen interest in natural medicine, the @naturalmedicine community has been an invaluable source of information and helped me discover surprising remedies growing in my own garden.
This awesome community that celebrates and rewards Natural Health posts with Lotus and Hive, also sets some awesome mindful challenges like:

I spoke about the value of engagement, so if you enjoy good conversation and you'd like to be part of real engagement, take yourself to a contest run by @abh12345 where you are encouraged to get the tongues wagging and be part of setting Hive on fire in:

Rewards
I still regard myself as a Blockchain/Crypto virgin who knew right from day one that I would be earning Crypto for my blogging efforts so even though it was great seeing my wallet grow, that's where I pictured it would stay forever.
That was until last year's hard lockdown when our little bnb had to close its doors for just on three months.
This is when my stored Hive came to the rescue with the help of fellow Hiveans who guided me to turn my Crypto earnings into rands and cents.

Finally...
I still maintain to this day that had I not started entering contests, I very likely would have drowned by now and disappeared from this amazing world called Hive!


Liz Signature Jan 21.gif
Banner created by @zord189

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved
Heart page break.png

Do you know this Badge?
Papilloncharity.png

It says "Thank you for partnering with the Papillon Foundation by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway."

Do you want this Badge?
If you like this badge and if you want to help too, you can learn more about @combination and the badge in their blog post:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

Hive animated divider 1.gif
Why not join Hive RIGHT HERE and become part of this amazing community!


Banner created by @derangedvisions

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency