Don't Focus On Rewards, Consistency Will Pay Off In The Long Run

July 21, 2022

What was your purpose in joining this platform?

You'll be a hypocrite if you say, you join just to write because we all have a common denominator when we came here, and that is to earn rewards through writing. Unless you are a contributor or developer under the platform's blockchain. But staying longer is another story that doesn't include rewards anymore.

While making my previous post about Hive Basics For Beginners posted on another platform, I was checking Hive FAQs for references. This FACT says a lot.

Screenshot_20220710_130706.jpg

This is so true.


Recently, I came across a new user on Hive who was complaining about not getting rewards. Then I told him (twice in different comments) to interact with the community to gain an audience. I wasn't sure though what action he took after telling him about community engagement since I don't know his account and he didn't give it either.

I remembered when I first started blogging, I tend to complain about the unfair distribution of rewards because of the random tipping system and I felt like many quality contents were unrated. Until I became used to it and didn't care about rewards anymore, but rather focused on writing and interacting with the community.

When I first joined Hive writing challenges from different communities, I was quite curious about their rewards. Some use Hive Engine tokens that have a very small value. And some challenges only have a maximum reward of $5 worth of tokens with no consolation prizes for all participants.

If I would compare it to some writing contests I held on another platform, the minimum worth of rewards I gave out was $20, not including the tips given out as consolation prizes. (This isn't to brag, but just a fact)

In my Christmas Gift Giving last December 2021, I gave out more than $100 to my regular followers as my way of appreciation for their constant support.

20211214_074749_0000.png

And another gift-giving was done in the real world wherein I gave a gift to a homeless old woman, and this is one of my dreams that came true, to help less fortunate people.

b9f17c8626694b762bfdd911537d5a6d.jpg

Giving Gift In The Real World

In my recent, 2nd Anniversary Writing Challenge, I gave out more or less $50 worth of rewards, excluding the worth of tokens and NFTs I gave out.

png_20220605_112059_0000.png

And the funny part there was, that week was a bear season. Just imagine how much loss it was to my wallet. Yet, I didn't care about the bear market and just continued my anniversary contest.

And take note, we have no rewards pool or voting mana on this platform, so all tips we give out to articles, comments, and writing challenges are directly deducted from our own wallets.


These rewards I gave out were the fruit of consistency, and I just shared them back with the community. And that's how I got to the top 10 tippers.

IMG_20220717_114408.jpg

At the beginning of the random rewarder tipping system, I was only getting random tips from the tipping bot, and there were days that I received no tips from it at all. It was frustrating at first as we all exerted effort in blogging but our works are not being rated well and the system was just so random. But despite not getting tips, I continued giving out tips. It may be small, but enough to motivate the receiver.

It wasn't only me, but many of us. However, we didn't give up and just forgot about the unfair tipping system. We just continued blogging and interacting with the community. Until our consistency was paid off and we got regular upvotes from the tipping bot.

What's the point here?

IMG_20220710_153040.png

Rather than focusing on the reward, just work on developing a good reputation and connecting with the community. Consistency pays off in the long run.

When posting articles on Hive, I don't care if I'll receive a big reward or just a few cents. We've been there and we're used to it. I'm joining several writing challenges but I don't even care if I'll win or lose, and how many rewards I'll receive from those challenges.

The main reasons why I like joining challenges are to interact with the community, meet different people, gain an audience, build a better reputation, and read different stories. It's not really just the rewards that matter on blogging, but the fun of joining challenges and meeting different people.

As for me, writing and interacting became part of my daily routine and I feel like my day isn't complete without doing so. So small or big rewards, it doesn't matter anymore. I just enjoy interacting with the community and sharing different stories.

So instead of complaining about your small reward, just focus on building a better reputation through engaging with the community while creating quality content. Again, it's the fun that matters more and the lessons and knowledge we receive through this platform. And just because you are not earning well, you will stop blogging. Just continue doing the right thing until you succeed and get a better name.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments
Ecency