This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

I Can't Listen When I'm Talking (Or Writing)

hi69d6.jpg

That age-old adage holds true for talking, deep thinking, and writing. When it comes to the oppression of listening through oral language, fighting is the worst kind. If I can't listening to someone while I'm talking to them, I'm sure not open-eared when yelling.

Thinking along the same lines, I can't listen when I'm writing. What I can do is at least address the audience that happens to read my writing. That's you! And to show my thankfulness for your attention, I make it a point to open up each post for discussion.

How exactly is that exchange between author and audience best achieved?

Try To Write In The Third Person

As I break that rule again by mentioning myself, I will say this. It's an exercise an old client expected out of every piece I wrote for them. Addressing only you (with no mention of I, me, or we) for an entire 1500 words was tough at first. It became mundane after a few rounds.

Pretend You're Having A Conversation With A Friend

isbm1j.jpg

When you lunch or tea with a friend, you might talk a bit about yourself. There's catching up to do and you have a story to tell. Talking only about yourself for the entire duration, however, isn't a friendly exchange. Most folk would start to lose interest and even roll their eyes if the self discussion continued.

So it's alright to mention yourself when writing, just try not to make it all about you. Involve the audience in your story and make them feel apart of it.

Ask Questions

That's what you do when you're talking to a friend. You wonder what has transpired in their life since you last had contact and you wonder how they're doing. Asking questions within your writing helps make the reader feel involved. It may even make them feel comfortable enough to leave a comment.

Anticipate The Readers' Objections

3k9j6q.jpg

Whether writing a product review or a personal opinion piece, it helps to know the counter argument. The Pros & Cons, so to speak.

Readers will be more likely to engage with a reblog or comment if you bring up their point of view. Even if it's not your own. Likewise when promoting a product, readers prefer honesty over a cover up. They're going to discover the Cons anyway if they purchase the product. Better to be honest up front.

One reason readers don't like to leave comments? It may have nothing to do with your writing. They may just not feel comfortable enough with their own written expression to make the leap.

Engagement - The Ultimate Measure Of Success

It's what every analyst puts at the top of their list when retrieving pertinent data. At least it is when it comes to online metrics. Especially on a blog and even more so on social media, comments are everything.

Even the spider bots on Google that judge websites using the most complex algorithm can't deny high levels of engagement. As I mentioned in a previous SEO related article, comments are content. The more the better for sales and for search engine rankings.

What Did You Say? I Couldn't Hear You While Writing!!!

Here's the part where authors use all sorts of lower natured techniques to try to produce engagement. "I know only a few of you will read this and even less will share" type emotional snares is one such example.

I prefer to be natural and leave it up to the audience. If I did my job, readers seem to feel quite free to jump in and comment.

1dzdqw.jpg

One last tip if you find a lack of engagement becomes a pattern on your publications:

Ask your audience to leave their thoughts in the form of a comment. Let them know you're ready to talk (you're listening) and you'll be quick to respond.

And on that note, allow me to add a subject for your engagement. What are the major reasons that hold you back from leaving comments? Time restraints? Embarrassment? Something else?

Oh yeah, if deep thinking is keeping you from listening, leave a comment. It may help you get outta there! 😁😁

Thanks for reading and as always...

jek876.png

l9i3rg.png

Images Courtesy Of Pixabay.com
Bottom Image Courtesy Of Hive.io Brand Assets
Want To Join The HIVE Community? Use My Referral Link To HiveOnboard.com

kplypy.gif