A love letter to Dandelions

I want to write an entry about Dandelions. That's strange maybe? Curious about what's so special about them? They are weeds! Right? Well I love these weeds/flowers/plants/troublemakers.

IMG_20210906_112807.jpg

They've been around for millennia, and can be found practically everywhere! They are tough little nuisances, growing in even the most urbanized of areas given time, changing the landscape around them. Slowly but surely they take over. Quiet garden invaders. I love them for this; strong little stalwart foes. Bane of the traditional gardener who likes his lawn to look like a stripped court.


They remind me of my husband, tough, hardy and nigh on impossible to keep down. Popping right back up to annoy those who try to put him in his place. He's never met an obstacle or hardship in life that he couldn't overcome, he's built dandelion tough.

They remind me of my sun (that was a typo, but maybe on a subconscious level it wasn't. My whole world ultimately revolves around my son, so perhaps I could say he is my sun as well, so I'm going to leave that right there.) A sunny face with a hopeful and happy demeaner, proud and playful, exhibiting a delightful vibrancy for life. His thoughts and interests change and flow like dandelion seeds in the breeze. One nebulous notion to the next.

IMG_20200328_123220.jpg


The seed heads of the dandelion, or clocks as I call them are almost ephemeral. When loose on the wind waltzing like fairies to an inaudible tune towards an unknown destination. For those lucky enough to catch this during the perfect sunset at the perfect place and perfect time it can be a surreal and beautiful experience. A glowing field of puffballs with a radiance that is almost spiritual. (This is a memory I will never forget. @rubido and I saw this once, as newlyweds taking an evening walk to the lake beyond the farrow fields near our old home. It was breath-taking. Words fail to describe how magical that moment was. I wish I'd had a camera with me, I regret that I can only share this through my words.)

IMG_20210904_084123.jpg


If I pick a dandelion clock I always make a wish when I blow the seeds out. It's always the same wish, it's come true. I hope it stays true. This is what I wish for.


IMG_20210906_112618.jpg

Dandelions are clever little plants in maintained grass and sidewalks. They lay their leaves flat to the ground keeping their crown well below the headsman's block / I mean lawnmower. Only their flowers stand tall, and cutting them down makes them grow stronger. You've got to pull these weeds up by the roots if you want to kill them. They are deep rooted so you better make sure you get it all or it will be back. Like I said... @rubido.


I actually did a small amount of reading on the dandelion out of curiosity more than research. I want this post to be more about my insight into the flower and what it represents to me rather than a technical dissection of its parts and properties.

So very quickly this what I learnt:

Did you know that their deep tap root is actually beneficial? (Maybe they are not the pernicious problem child of the garden as is generally thought.) It functions a bit like a bridge moving nutrients deeper from the earth to the topsoil which ultimately helps the other surrounding flora. That sounds like a benefit doesn't it? Another reason not to poison our earth.

IMG_20210906_113147.jpg

Dandelions are one of the best flowers for bees in the early months of the year, blooming before most other flowers. This is a fact I can indubitably corroborate as our orchard is a sea of yellow with them in spring.

They are also edible, in their entirety! We as a species have been eating them ever since we lived in caves and said 'ugga ugga.' They can be bitter, especially if you are eating the older leaves, but the young ones are better, and some light cooking or added flavourful ingredients can alleviate this.

They were, fascinatingly enough, fashionable foodstuffs of history, funny huh? Much like oysters which have undergone a cultural culinary shift from poor man's food to a luxury delicacy, the dandelion took the opposite path. Of course he did, he's tough, he can do anything he puts his mind to.

Dandelions are rich in vitamins and minerals, and much of the plant has been used medicinally in different cultures. For example, the root contains a natural diuretic aka something that makes you pee. I guess this explains the French name for them, pisenlit - piss the bed! (I wonder if anyone here knows the history of herbalism, that could be really interesting to read about.)

OK that's it the lesson is over, I hope you found that a little interesting.

Name... The Name, that's interesting. Dandelion, Dande-lion, DANDY lion, I love that name. I really really love it. Dandy Lion. Reminds me of a great proud lion with a great golden mane, untamed, self assured, roaming it's land. All the earth is the dandelions land, from the landscaped garden to the city sidewalk, it doesn't care it will grow anywhere.

IMG_20210904_084242.jpg

Oops the lessons not quite over, I have another quick bit of information:

The etymology of the word dandelion actually stems from French, dent-de-lion, lions tooth, a reference to the shape of their leaves, but I like my imagining of the name better. To me it suits the character better.



What do you think of dandelions? Do you love them or loathe them, or do you see them with indifference? Do you notice the almost sacred geometry of their clocks?


I am actually planning to get a tattoo of one at some point, I just have to plan a design, find the right person to do it, and muster up enough balls to have it done. They really do have a special meaning to me.


Are there any other misrepresented weeds, flowers, or plants that mean or symbolize something personal to you? I'd love to hear your thoughts.

IMG_20210906_113922.jpg

All photos taken on my honor 9 phone.

Iaura out ๐ŸŒป
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency