Building my Igloo and Insomnia

lake_g57b7ecb51_640.jpg
Source:

Too Busy Building the Igloo to Write

I feel bad that I haven’t written much lately although, honestly, who does it really affect except me? With winter looming here, there are many tasks to keep a Canadian Prairie woman busy such as, but not limited to finding a good position for the igloo, and finding some large chunks of ice that will make good walls for the igloo. Do you have any idea how challenging it is to get an igloo wired up with electricity and indoor plumbing in time for winter? It is a delicate balance of timing because if you do it too soon, the igloo melts, and if you do it too late, well, obviously, you end up with no electricity, and no indoor plumbing, and you can live that way, but the villagers do like to make fun of those who try.

You all Knew I was Joking About the Igloo, Right?

In all fairness to those who know nothing about Canadian life, I feel it is important to tell you that the above paragraph is satirical. Although the Inuit (the polite name for those many call “Eskimo”) sometimes might build an igloo, and there are some intrepid alpine club members who might go winter camping and build an igloo, this is not actually a common Canadian activity.

Sleepless... I Banished my Lovely Partner (Temporarily)

No, my friends. I am sitting in a cozy two-bedroom apartment. Sleepless at 3:09am, I have sent my long-suffering partner to the second bedroom so I can make an obscene amount of noise without bothering him. Not that it would bother him anyhow. He manages to sleep through almost anything. Before you feel terribly sorry for my partner, I should add that the second bedroom has the more comfortable bed. Our bed is a king-sized bed, which he allegedly purchased by accident a few years ago. I am not sure how you purchase a king-sized bed by accident, but I am willing to believe it, and I like the size.

Feeble Attempt to Alleviate My Guilt over Asking my Partner to Go to the Other Bed

The bed in the second bedroom is extremely comfortable. It is a Queen-sized bed that I inherited from my mother when she passed away. She had several beds in her home, and I took one of them. She had an ability to choose insanely comfortable mattresses. It was just one of her many talents.

So, when I ask my partner if he wouldn’t mind moving to the second bedroom, since he falls asleep at the drop of a hat, and since the bed is more comfortable in there, I feel slightly less guilty making the request. The cats prefer him. This is not jealousy on my part. I love the cats, and they love me also, but they prefer him. They follow him like baby ducks. When he moves to the second bedroom, the entire menagerie goes to the second bedroom also.

The Quiet of the Night

This leaves me with a relatively peaceful early morning. It is the next best thing to actually being able to sleep all night. One of these days, I plan to write an article about sleep. I have it planned out, but it takes some effort to breathe life into an otherwise potentially dry topic. Also, I find it depressing because it is a big problem in my life, and one to which I have not yet found the solution.

Conclusion and Foreshadowing

I can tell you about twenty solutions to the problem of “I cannot sleep at night,” and can explain in detail, “Why it is healthy to get enough sleep.” Despite this, here I am at 3:17am, and I have tried my twenty solutions to no avail. And I know it is healthy to get enough sleep. Yet I am awake.

In MacBeth, Shakespeare said, “Only the innocent sleep.” Perhaps, Shakespeare. Perhaps.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency