10 Fun Facts to Enjoy Old Dubai Street

Introduction:

I considered myself as a lucky one despite circumstances in life I faced off. Everything that happened to me has a great impact on what I am becoming and pursuing me to do a talent that I keep still working on. Learning is a never-ending process. We cannot depend on something which is stagnant. We should be open to changes since CHANGE is the permanent thing in this world. In this another entry of my Travel blog, I will show you the great shots I had when I do Street Photography in Dubai. I really like doing this aside from being fun but what’s important is that what lessons I learned along my journey. There are varieties of fun facts on how to enjoy yourself in the street but today I will share my top 10 shots during my visit to different streets in Dubai.


No. 1
"THE SPICES”

IMG_1754.jpgshot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me


In my 23 years of existence by the year 2016, I started to taste sets of flavors through the aroma of spices. It was not easy to adjust when it comes to foods from a foreign country I am going to live to begin a new career in life. I have to learn how to accept Arabic foods or other nationality’s food preparation because this is how I show respect for them. Having an Emirati brother-in-law who is a husband of my Fiancee’s sister is an advantage for me to know more about their cuisines and try to eat their top foods. By that experience, I am now open to trying spices. For a specific place where to find these is in Dubai Spice Souk where you can see the range of spices including from other countries.


IMG_0584.jpgshot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me


The popular one is from India. As a fan of any kind of Biryani such as chicken, lamb, grilled kebabs, and more I slowly learn the ingredients of it. One of my favorites is turmeric , lemon balls, and cinnamon. This is a perfect place for those people who love to cook and make their own kind of version recipe because the availability of spices is good to help. The good thing about the spices, they are naturally made and way even more healthy.



No. 2
"A LANTERN TO BRIGHTEN UP”

IMG_0589.jpg

IMG_0586.jpg

shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

These are the street lanterns in Dubai or commonly known as “Fanous” which is a lamp light with its great designs and colors. It is one of the symbols to celebrate during Ramadan. In Muslim, they are starting to light it up for their holiest month. In this modern life, these are no longer use as their main source of light instead, a traditional lamplight or decoration.


No. 3
“DUBAI FABRICS”

IMG_0607.jpg
shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

There are many textile shops scattered around the old Dubai. A sort of fabric that has different colors, patterns, and designs. This is a perfect shop for ladies out there who is fond of this kind of type. Your eyes will be amazed by the spectacular prints which are good for the eyes. In addition to this, through traveling this place you will know what are other countries design for their national dress. Each design or symbol represents their country.


No. 4
“DUBAI, THE CITY OF GOLDS”

IMG_0627.jpg
shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

IMG_0626.jpg
shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

My first ever visit Gold Souq is in Sharjah. I was really shocked at first because it was composed of two big semis look like a mosque but when you enter inside it’s a hundred shops related to gold jewelry. I met our kababayans (fellow Filipino) there and they were very entertaining and even gave discounts to me when I bought a surprise necklace with a pendant letter D as a gift for my fiancée. The second picture shown above is in Dubai Souq where I bought a keychain shaped heart necklace as my birthday gift for her too. If you are in my situation you will feel confused about which one you are going to choose since the designs were fantastic. It was displayed by category according to your taste in jewelry fashion. I am happy to see how responsible the sellers are and can you imagine there is no security staff to overlook the properties. Instead, they were calm and trust the government rules if ever there are tragic or unexpected happenings may occur. People are highly aware of what they expect when they did something unacceptable.




No. 5
“A GOOD PLACE TO RELAX”

IMG_0579.jpg

IMG_1729.jpg

IMG_1801.jpg
shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

Raise your hand if you are a sunrise or sunset lover. This is the place where you belong if you love to wait when the sun rises or sun setting down. Aside from the beauty in the sky you will get relax by breathing fresh salty water from the sea. It is good to freshen yourself watching these flock of birds and the amazing skyscrapers which is a perfect combination to appreciate the beautiful scenery. After a long tiring walk roaming around Dubai, you can sit, eat, and get calm of its purity streetscape. It is more fun to share your food or feed the birds which creates a great bond between humans and animals.




No. 6
“WHICH SOUVENIR YOU LIKE TO HAVE?”

IMG_1782.jpg

IMG_0585.jpg

shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

Every destination we went through there is always been a souvenir for as to take to represent our travel journey. This is a good pride specifically if you made a collection of it which I found other people who love to keep things which remind them of that specific place. As you can see in the first photo, the man was selling mini camels stuffed toys. As far as I know, Camels are expensive. I usually saw Camels on my way to my workplace because every day we passed through Emirates road and the majority of it is covered with dunes. Second, they have these glass displays from their popular tourist spots such as Burj Al Arab and BurjKhalifa. One of my best souvenirs I got is the different colors of sand in a frame and preserve spices in a bottle. It is not quite expensive. I think in your 50 AED you can have at least 3-4 objects just learn to deal with the sellers and be kind on dealing and when you try to approach because they are willing to give you discounts.




No. 7
“At the Mosque”

IMG_1803.jpg

IMG_0623.jpg

shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

I truly salute how Muslims are very conservative and valued their Religion. From women’s to men’s mosque is separated. They were disciplined enough what to do before, during, and after their prayers in the Mosque. Every single day I heard the signal sound which means it is time for them to get united and pray. Another caught my attention is during Ramadan. It is a place where gives hopes to individuals who experienced hunger or don’t have enough food to eat. This is their running place since it’s a place where you can share whatever you have thought it is small or big at the end of the day when they leave the mosque the happy faces and big smiles remain in each everyone’s heart. I could still recall before when we get used to donating our clothes in the charity box which is located near the mosque. I am happy and proud of the little things I did because I know it will be a big help for those the needed ones.


No. 8
“A SMOKE OF BAKHOOR”

IMG_0590.jpg
shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

My first encounter with this smoke was suffocating because I don’t like the smell every time I inhaled but day by day I slowly liking it and most especially when I knew the purpose of having it. Living with Emirati in one house, I should adapt his way of living and learn how to value their culture. This is what we called “BAKHOOR”. We usually do the traditional one which was burnt through charcoal. As an indoor usage, this is considered as a perfume in the house for its great scent. It is used during ceremonies in spiritual and religious activities that could give positive energy and disregard evil spirits according to their beliefs. My favorite flavor is the Oud one.



No. 9
“FLOWER GARLANDS”

IMG_0591.jpg
shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

This is a street where you can experience different cultures from different countries. One of the highest population who are working or staying in Dubai are the Indian people. I find them friendly and fun to work with based on my experiences. The photo shows a man busy doing his business in flower garlands. This is the most spot I get attracted to because from downstairs up to the second floor even the walls are surrounded with colorful flowers. They considered flowers as their offerings to their Gods and other ritual ceremonies. I am glad to experience this which made me think that there is no need for me to visit India since the place brings me what India looks like. By the experience I had with this, I am contented and love seeing this kind of arrangement.



No. 10
“BRING ME BACK TO THE OLD DAYS”

IMG_0564.jpg

IMG_0613.jpg
shot with canon 80d using 18-135 kit lens photography by me

As what I have said that we are more appreciating if a country preserved their past history because whatever we are experiencing in our generation has a great effect during the old days. Though we are now facing in a modern world there is no reason to neglect one’s History. When you visit Dubai, you will witness their structures using bricks or stones. There was a time I passed through a place where they said it is an old town where local or Emirati people living with their grand grandparents. Through the help of the government, they were transferred where a place most of them are located in areas with different blocks mostly near the desert. With its fast development and having the tallest building in the world, there are still beautiful pieces left as their pride.


Let us be connected always. Please check and follow me also on my other social media handles.

INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/gohenryeverywhere/
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/gohenry4
FACEBOOK: http://facebook.com/minimalistprintcreatives


My Short Documentry Series:

Thanks to @bearone for this Hiveph badge!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency