The psychiatrist- A short story- fiction

Image source

Jonathan breathed deeply while he lay on the couch. He still felt very
tense.

“I’m sorry, it’s very frustrating. I cannot keep up with this charade. I can’t
get over the fact that Jessie cheated on me. It’s driving me insane.

The psychiatrist switched the position of his legs and picked up his pen and
notebook.

"Why don't we start at the beginning again? Let’s work through your anger."

"It hurts too much.” Jonathan turned his head away from the psychiatrist so he could not see the anger and frustration in his eyes.

“We’ve spoken about this before. Time heals everything. Often if things like these happen, we must look at our innerself. What could have triggered her to do this? Was there a lack of intimacy in your relationship?”

“No, everything was perfect. We were happy, or at least I thought she was…”

“Life can be unfair and frustrating. We just have to learn to live with it and move on.”

“What do you suggest? Are you saying that I should just forgive and forget and move on as if nothing happened?

Jonathan could feel the anger building up.

“Yes, perhaps you need to take a break. Perhaps it’s time for you to explore life. Maybe you need to move out for a while so you can get hold of yourself.”

Jonathan turned around and looked the psychiatrist straight in his eyes.

"How will moving out solve any of my problems?”

The psychiatrist ignored him and answered his question with a question.

"Let us talk about your frustration. What makes it impossible for you to get past this? I have seen many relationships go back to normal after infidelity. I can assure you that it is totally possible."

Jonathan sighed.

"If things were only that easy.... I don’t think moving out will solve my problem.”

The psychiatrist smiled. “Perhaps you just need to face your fear. Have you ever thought of confronting the guy?

"I have. Many times..." Jonathan said and had a weird look in his eyes.

“I don’t think you are really helping me doctor, but perhaps you are right. There might be no other way for me to resolve my feelings. I need to face my fear and face the guy.”

Jonathan turned and stood up. This time he seemed calm.

“I want to thank you that you made me see the light.”

The psychiatrist put down his pen and book and stood up.

They were now standing facing each other.

Jonathan stood still for a second and felt the gun in his pocket. Jessie should
never have come to see this pathetic excuse for a psychiatrist after she lost
her job.

The psychiatrist turned around to open the office door for Jonathan, but instead he felt a sharp burning sensation in his back when the first bullet entered his body.

He did not feel the second or the third one. He fell and lay in a pool of
blood that seeped out of his body and stained the light-coloured carpet.

With every shot, Jonathan started to feel better and better, and when he emptied
the magazine, he wiped his fingerprints of the gun, and put it down next to the
psychiatrist....

Jonathan was careful not to step in the blood and closed the door
behind him when he walked out of the office.

It was dark and no one knew that he came to see Dr. Munich tonight.

He switched on the car radio when he climbed into his car parked two blocks away. He played his favorite song all the way home.

Now that the lying bastard was dead, he was sure Jessie would give him a second chance.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency