This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

That's my hat

"I'll have my hat back now." I said, just a little miffed that she looked better in it than I ever would. I had on my best fake-grumpy face and held her gaze in faux-consternation as if that was likely to sway her to return it.

"Nope, it looks better on me", Faith said with a flourish, a flash of perfectly straight and glowing-white teeth and a hint of that it's mine now tone I knew so well.

She was right too. It did.

Right then she turned on the gravel path and smiled...That's when I snapped this picture. Yes, yes I know it's not the best photography ever, with me it's never going to be, but it's one of my favourites from that day.

We were in Como at the southern tip of Lago di Como, Northern Italy where we had arrived only a few days earlier as part of the Italian part of a European holiday. We were there for a total of 6 days and wished it was 6 weeks, such is the beauty of the region.

We had based ourselves in a private residence off a small courtyard through a couple of huge wooden gates. There was a little market-shop below and a lovely rustic feel to the whole place. The market provided our fresh produce for meals at home, amazing cheeses, cold cuts, olives, tomatoes and crusty breads and the location was only a very short walk to the lake. Pretty perfect.

On the day I took this picture we had taken a boat ride, one of those cool wooden speed-boats, to Villa Balbianello in the Lenno area to explore. It's famous for its terraced gardens and long history, plus has been the site where many movies have been made. It's just a beautiful place which much of interest including a pretty cool museum inside.

From there we hopped back on board our speed-boat and headed across the lake to Bellagio for a wander about its cobbled lanes lined with elegant buildings and Serabelloni Park known for it's spectacular 18th Century terraces gardens. That's where this photo was taken.

We had lunch in Bellagio also and I have a pretty intense photo of me shovelling the largest fork-full of spaghetti known to man into my mouth...The G-dog is all class! Actually I did it just for the camera but I tell everyone I fitted it all in. Nope, you're not seeing it...Maybe in another post.

After lunch we headed back to our little courtyard villa for a little siesta before the evenings' activities began.

We did many things whilst staying in Como including a float-plane flight over the entire region, a really great trip to Milan, took many walks and ate some amazing food...But for me all of that would have meant nothing without my wife there...And this photo has always taken me back there, to that amazing location, at just a glance.

Faith and I have travelled all over the world, seen and done some amazing things and have so many memories to look back upon however the most valuable thing we have shared on those travels is each others company. After thirty three years together we still actually like each other and are very much in love. I don't know how I've managed to get her to stick around, but she has and I'm grateful.

We don't need to travel to far away places to be in love though, that happens daily here at home in Australia and whilst we have our moments we are a pretty good team. Sharing my life with Faith has been such a pleasure and yet we have so much more to share...Except my hat...That's mine and I wanted it back! I actually did get it back so there was a happy ever after to this story.

How about you guys? Have you got a photo, one single image that brings back such vivid and powerful memories or emotions? Feel free to share in the comments, not necessarily the photo if you don't want to I mean, just the story.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209