Grumpday

Copy of me for a moment (2).png

I'm officially renaming Tuesday to Grumpday because well...Because I'm feeling rather grumpy and haven't been able to shake it off despite making a pretty concerted effort to do so including a walk at the beach. Nothing seemed to work until...


Tuesday Grumpday

I've not had the best of days; nothing bad happened, just multiple little things that combined to pile on the weight a little more each hour until by mid-afternoon I was pretty damned grumpy. The worst was a conversation I had with the wife of a friend of mine who took his own life a few weeks ago; she's not coping very well.

I don't really want to go into it now, or here on the blockchain, but she's feeling empty, alone and weighed down. Understandable of course, all of his friends feel similar emotions but from her perspective, after the long battle she's fought over the years to help her husband cope with the effects of post traumatic stress disorder, I understand that she's struggling and I felt rather annoyed today that I didn't seem to be of any help. An hour on the phone went by and I just felt useless. It annoyed me but also made me feel that maybe my other troubles seemed quite insignificant in comparison. *I miss my mate too...All up a pretty shitty thing I guess. So I got grumpy.

I had a few other calls today, none of which really turned out the way I had hoped.

You know when you're waiting for something to happen but it's not happening fast enough? I'm sort of in that situation and it means I can't really move one way or the next and that frustrates the hell of out me; I'm a decisive man who likes things to be done or not so I can move forward with confidence. Move onward.

I've got to sit tight though, but in doing so I'm getting frustrated and...Yep, grumpy.

I decided to take a walk at the beach and it felt kind of nice...Until three phone calls came in and it got ruined. Yes I know, leave the phone home, but that would be counter productive at this point as I'm waiting on specific calls. Still, it was quite a nice walk and helped somewhat and...Just a little less grumpy.

On the way back home after my walk I did an SGC on myself, a self grump-check with the hope I'd been miraculously cured but...Nope, still grumpy.

But then...

When I got home, as always, my first stop is to see Cleo. That's her in the picture above; my cute little cat.

She was sleeping, as always, and whilst she loves pats and kisses from me was a little grumpy that I woke her up.

She got over it quickly though and soon was purring loudly and rubbing my face with hers. And...Yep, my grumpiness was cured, just like that. It's amazing the effect a pet can have upon one's mood and Cleo never fails to make me feel better. She knows my mood, I don't know how but she does, and after ten minutes with her I felt a lot better. Sure, all those other things are still there, but she doesn't care; she just cares about me and that feels pretty damned good. Her feelings are unconditional.

I grabbed this photo right after we were snuggling. She was on the ottoman-couch-lounge-thingy and despite looking grumpy she wasn't at all. She was purring and if she felt some degree of annoyance it was probably because I'd stopped patting her to take the photo.


Being annoyed or grumpy is simply another element of being human; it happens from time to time. As long as one understands it, the reason for it and deals with the reasons then I think it's completely fine to feel annoyed and grumpy at times. I'm not grumpy now and am better-placed to work through the feeling of annoyance because I've controlled the emotion somewhat. I know better than to let it effect me in truth, grumpiness I mean, but hey I'm human and it happens sometimes right?

How about you? Have you had grumpy days like me? I think you must have! Come now, surely you've experienced annoyance over something that happened or didn't. Feel free to share in the comments below if you'd like.

P.s. Grumpday has now been retracted and Tuesday officially reinstated.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
46 Comments
Ecency