Drop point down under

A little while ago I connected with a steem user called @freedompoint who seemed always to post interesting commentary about life, the outdoors and one of his hobbies, namely, knife-making.

I'd followed a few of his knife builds slowly building up the desire to own one for myself and once that decision was made I signalled my intent and we began chatting on discord about how we could make it happen.

At that stage he'd never shipped a blade out of the country (USA) and he was pretty keen to see one of his builds head to Australia so we both committed to the build and away it went.

We decided upon drop point knife as I intended to put it to use hunting and for general outdoors-work; A drop point is a great all-purpose blade, strong and robust. The shape of the blade provides more control and strength to the tip of the blade - Although the tip on a drop point blade is never as sharp its strength makes it an obvious choice for those looking to actually use the knife. Drop point knives are popular choices for tactical and survival purposes.

Perhaps its only drawback is that it is not quite as good for piercing as others, say a clip point blade, although it's benefits outweigh that minor drawback. They are simply perfect for slicing though and its broad tip, the strength in it, is what I was looking for.

It's the perfect knife for me, someone who hunts and spends so much time in the bush. It is simply perfect for both known and unexpected situations and I love it!

I asked @freedompoint to create a knife that looks rugged; I didn't want a fancy-pants blade that looks good sitting on a table or some stupid Facebook post...Nope, I wanted something that looked like it meant business, tough and workman-like. I think he nailed it.

When the blade arrived late last week I opened the parcel and was incredibly pleased with what dropped out. The weight was nice, heavy with a slight forward-balance, and it fit into my hand like it was meant to be. I love the handle too as the wood came from the very location where the knife was made, from a tree in that area. Cool! Oh, it is sharp too. Sharp.

In the images you will see that the blade looks used which is by design. Trust me, it'll look way more used in short order. The handle, though, has been carefully crafted to leave no burs or sharp bits so I could wield this knife for long periods without fear of it jabbing or pinching into my hand. I also love the little touch of putting the makers mark on the blade which gives it a personal touch.

I'm really pleased with my blade and am happy with the price I paid. I think what's really cool is the fact I can see my blade being made through the posts and videos @freedompoint put up on steem. I'll have that record of it being made and it makes the knife feel more personal, more mine I guess.

I haven't got a bad thing to say about the entire process from design-discussions to the build-process to hefting the final product once it arrived here in Australia. My knife has come a long way although has only started its life here in the big brown land of Australia...It will be with me for many years and will almost certainly end up with my nephew when I am gone...Yes, it's the sort of thing that gets handed down for future use.

So, if you like knives you need to get onto the builder of this one; You will not regret it. Also, if you like good thoughtful posts about life you need to check out this user...It seems there's more in his noggin than just how to build knives. He's a champ.


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
An original post written by a human
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
45 Comments
Ecency